Traveling through Minnesota’s Bluff Country

A recent visit, and lunch opportunity, from bloggy friend Audrey, and hubby Randy, has resulted in this lovely pictorial account (and “prairie gal’s” impressions) of the awesome area I/we call home.

Minnesota Prairie Roots

The terrain here, outside of Rushford in southeastern Minnesota, is similar to that around Houston. Turn left at the intersection and you will be headed for Houston. The terrain here, outside of Rushford in southeastern Minnesota, is similar to that around Houston, Minnesota. Turn left at the intersection and you will be headed for Houston.

DRIVING ALONG A WINDING and steep ridge road toward Houston, Minnesota, on an October autumn afternoon, I am taken by the ruggedness of this land. Friends Doreen and Tom, who left the Twin Cities decades ago to settle in this area, warned my husband and me about Houston County Road 13. Yet, I was unprepared for the curves, the heights, for the vastness of the valley below, for the overwhelming feeling of smallness I experienced. I suppose others would say the same about the prairie—except for the height part. Familiarity equates comfort. And I suspect Doreen understood that a native flatlander like me might find her neck of the woods a tad daunting. I do. I am not a lover of heights.

View original post 437 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Traveling through Minnesota’s Bluff Country

  1. How fun that you were able to get together for a visit!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    I love your “home” and think it is totally suited to you!

  3. Thanks for reblogging this, Doreen. And thanks for having Randy and me for lunch and a visit. We delighted in every minute. You and Tom are the best. I truly do love your region of the state. I just won’t stand on the edge of a bluff looking down. 🙂

  4. witchylin says:

    Such a gorgeous place to live and to welcome good bloggy friends.

  5. Thread crazy says:

    So glad your schedules aligned for a visit!

Leave a Reply

