A very cool/awesome Sweet 16 accessory………

Before going further, I will have to say there isn’t much that I’ve needed to add to Ms Sweetie’s wardrobe BUT this one is a “doozy”!!!! Instant LOVE!!!! I’ve had a (client’s) project pending that I had this fab idea (in my head!!!!) for and just knew that there would be some inherent pit-falls in executing. When stitching, there are those times when the “foot” will/may get a bit “hung up” on something on the surface of the project. It may be a bump (where several seam allowances come together and, maybe haven’t had the best pressing, etc) or an applique that requires very close echo stitching or just very high loft batting. Well, this beauty solves ALL those issues perfectly!!!!!!!!

 IMG_4563

It is so brilliantly simple!!!! A clear plastic little “bowl” (great visibility, once I got used to it…….thought I might need some Dramamine, though, for a while!!!! LOL!!) that just glides(!) around/over those lurking trouble spots………

. IMG_4561

and, yes, that is a shirt placket that I’ve just feathered around…..but that’s a story for another day!!!

Just a note…..I am not, in any way a paid spokesperson for Handi Quilter but……this is one awesome addition!!!!! My original intent was to use it on my vintage linen projects. You know…..around all the cut-outs and embroidery areas that tend to snag an open-toe foot. Well, now I know it will be just the ‘ticket’!!!!!! And I just HAD to share………really……….. So, if you have a different brand of machine and there’s a foot that resembles this available……grab it….it’s awesome and there’s so many possibilities. Just sayin’……………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A very cool/awesome Sweet 16 accessory………

  1. witchylin says:

    Another quilting innovative idea. Wonder if anything on similar lines is available for ordinary domestic machines. Would be perfect for chunky quilts.

  2. Rosemaryflower says:

    Yeah, I WANT that Sweet16 but there is one I can rent at one of my favorite quilt shops.
    I should see if she has that foot. I will let her know of your discovery.
    That tiny little hole still freaks me out but for me it would just be a reminder to slow down.
    Thanks for sharing this Doreen

    • treadlemusic says:

      Believe me, I got used to it in a hurry and had no problems with it. There’s a bit of distortion because of the curve of the clear plastic. I had to go a bit slower when traveling (doing the feathers). Love this foot!!!!!!

  3. Raewyn says:

    I was excited to see this foot come out…glad it ‘passed the test’! I’m looking forward to getting one, as well 🙂 I see there are ‘echo feet’ available now too – something else to play with!!

  4. How clever!! It’s the simple things that make us happy, isn’t it?!

  5. Pip says:

    I haven’t had a chance to try this foot yet, a friend has and mentioned she had problems with glare from the lights reflecting off the plastic, did you have this problem or is it something you get used to?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Wow! I guess it mustn’t have been an issue as I don’t remember even seeing a glare. Maybe it was because I was so focused on trying to see my stitching well enough through the plastic so I could travel stitch (doing feathers). I did get used to that aspect, though, and I really love this foot. Thanks so much for taking a few moments to share your thoughts!!! Please, stop by again!!! Hugs……………..

      • Pip says:

        thanks for your thoughts, I might just borrow the foot from my friend and have a play myself, she may not have perservered long enough with it.

        • treadlemusic says:

          We’re each different in our styles and need to explore options (that’s what makes the world go ’round and expands the market place!! LOL!!). Will be anxious to hear how you fare……Hugs…….

Leave a Reply

