To answer a few questions……..

About the Glide Foot accessory for my Sweet 16 (posted last week here). The newer machine models (not sure of exactly when the change came!) come with the newer shaft in place, making the use of the quick-change specialty feet possible. Here is a photo of my machine with this set-up……..And, yes, I had to make the conversion kit purchase.

IMG_4626

Note that the foot slides on the shaft and is held in place by a hex-head screw that goes completely through the foot/shaft/foot. If your SS has the old shaft (which would have the ruler or open toe foot as part of the shaft!!!) you must purchase a conversion kit. This kit contains the tools needed for the conversion, the new threaded shaft, a ruler and open-toe feet.

IMG_4627

I hope this clarifies what is needed in order to use the Glide Foot a wee bit. Let me know if there are further questions and I’ll do my best to give you direction.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To answer a few questions……..

  1. Fiona says:

    Ive used the glide foot a couple of times and love it… lucky me got the newer model so I never understood what people talk about the conversion kit….
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are very fortunate! Do you know when HQ did away with the original set-up and put the new/quick change shaft on??? I couldn’t figure it out. It is costly, especially as I had bought the open toe for the other set-up. This is so much better. Thanks for your input……much appreciated as always.

  2. Thread crazy says:

    Enjoyed the talk this morning. I’m going to check with HQ and see if my machine can take the conversion kit. Will keep you posted.

  3. Raewyn says:

    Interesting, I’ll have to check it out for mine…. thank you for the info 🙂

Leave a Reply

