A walk on the beach & Saturday playtime………

Have been the activities of choice. After my wonderful delivery yesterday (see here), DH and I took off on a drive to South Padre Island. Sun and blue sky is what we left and we were greeted by this……..

IMG_4907 IMG_4908 

And this……………………

IMG_4910

Yup…..a pipeline laid along the whole length of beach!! You may read more about it here. The Gulf facing beach is constantly being eroded/blown towards the mainland and dredging sands are used to replace, “re-nourish” the beach sand lost to prevailing winds and seas. Interesting! But I wasn’t totally alone on the walk…………………………

IMG_4906 

DH and I managed to cover a decent amount of real estate on this jaunt, disturbing not one of the “locals” who blithely continued his snooze!!!! Ha!

IMG_4911

So ended our Friday……..well, after a wonderful fish supper, of course!

IMG_1150

 

Now, on to Saturday’s playtime with Ms Juki (Jr.?)………….

IMG_4912

IMG_4913

IMG_4914

IMG_4915

This printed piece is a topper about 19” square that I picked up at a LaCrosse,WI, antique shop for about $0.50!!! A bit of batting and print backing and the fun begins. No plan. Just stitch…………see ya later…………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A walk on the beach & Saturday playtime………

  1. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    You’re kidding me–you do your beautiful quilting FREEHAND?! Incredible.

  2. Mary Nelson says:

    Love the quilting. I have a a couple of similar pieces I have been dying to get to.

  3. Mrs. Plum says:

    Your quilting is lovely. Enjoy!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s such a great way to update those linen/cotton pieces that will end up in a rag bag or recycle bin!!!!!!

      • If I tried it, it might still end up in the recycle bin. I am going to practice on some upholstery samples I have, but some day I hope to work on vintage textiles too. Right now I would just be afraid of bad things happening…

        • treadlemusic says:

          The pieces (like this floral) that I find at antique/thrift shops for $0.50 to $2.50 have no sentimental value and are mostly napkins/toppers that have no real use……go for it!!!!!! It’s so much fun!

  4. witchylin says:

    Wonderful quilting as always.
    What is blue sky? We have not seen any since last year. End of November to be exact. Here in the North East of the UK it has done nothing but rain. Hence all the dreadful flooding. Lots of good quilting days for me though, who wants to go out in pouring rain.

  5. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! Your quilting is fantastic! Beautiful beach photos and what a cute guy you met there! That pipe looks interesting…has to be very old. Yesterday I was stitching outside! It was a gorgeus day. Today begins with clouds. Have a lovely day! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you and you as well! Stitching outside is what I hope to be doing as soon as the temperatures warm. Your patio/garden area is so perfect for such activity! Chilly start to the day here but that’s ok…..up north/home it is sub-zero F with a wind chill that’s gruesome!!!!!

  6. KerryCan says:

    Oh, I want to go walk on a beach!! I’m envious! Your stitching on vintage linens always makes me happy!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The beach, though overcast skies, was really nice….not chilly (as I had thought it would be) and no one (hardly) was there…..a few ‘locals’ doing some ‘surf fishing’ for a fish called “whities” (sp????).
      This little stitching has little open space, so just echoing, pebbles and simple fill w/o any type of marked motif…..easy-peasy!!!!!! I’m so happy you dropped by for a visit!!!! Hugs………

  7. That is looking very pretty so far.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m really enjoying such a tiny project that is easily stopped/started w/o any prep. I wanted to put some time on this machine to check out the various functions. I’m very happy to report that all’s in great/perfect order!!!!! Hugs to you from chilly BUT green south TX…………….

  8. I seriously wish I was there walking on that beach rather than in frigid southern Minnesota.

  9. ivoryspring says:

    Looks like you are having a lot of fun!!!

Leave a Reply

