Design Wall Monday…………………….

IMG_5069

Please note the state of the art design wall!!!!! Take one fuzzy blanket and add conveniently located cabinet doors and….wha-la! = design wall!!! LOL! My Thursday quilt group had a workshop on this technique last week (when #2 son & wife were visiting) and I’m playing catch-up!!! Managed to get the directions on Saturday morning (thanks, Jan) and spent the afternoon cutting away……..such fun!!! I have a lovely yellow solid that will be the background for this. The technique is known by several different names (stacked tiles, stacked 4- patch, kaleidoscope 4-patch block) and one version of the directions may be found here. The individual pieces were 3.5” resulting in a 6.5” (unfinished) block. At this point I do plan to put the blocks “on point”. (maybe……..possibly….???)

The fabric piece is from Connecting Threads and is by Riley Blake Designs, “Halle Rose” by Lila Tueller Designs. More photos to come.

Another week is beginning and I do pray it is a great one!!!! Blessings, dear bloggy friends……………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Design Wall Monday…………………….

  1. witchylin says:

    Love the design wall. I have all the makings of one myself so must ‘steal’ the idea. I don’t have a sewing room so can’t have a permanent design wall. (One of my dreams.) Yellow should look good with that fabric. It will make the on point design pop. Of course it will be on point, wont it? LOL

    • treadlemusic says:

      Of course!!!! (yes, you know me very well!!!) Actually, that design wall idea works better than the one I have at home!! The fuzzy blanket holds much better than the flannel surface and the cabinet door idea allows for some size flexibility!!! LOL!!!!!!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Your design wall is perfect! Nothing like making things work where you are at with what you have available!

  3. Vicki in MN says:

    Great improvise for the design wall! Love what I am seeing with your project.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ve wanted to do a “Stack/Whack” for a while but wanted something smaller, so the 4-patch idea is way more practical and quickly achieved!!! Thnks for popping in!!!!!!! Thinking of all my soon-to-be-snow-bound friends!!!!! Hugs……………….

  4. Jeanne says:

    Love this project! I have never tried it but it’s now on my list. Your design wall is fantastic – you are VERY resourceful! Happy February…

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thinking of y’all up in “snowland”….be safe and quilt on!!!!! In my mind, this type of kaleidoscope piecing is more do-able than the one utilizing the 60 degree ruler! Much simpler…LOL! Kinda made up my directions from the CT idea.

  5. Pat in WNY says:

    I love your improv design wall! And your new quilt is taking shape very nicely. Looking forward to seeing your progress on this one.

  6. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! Great idea for design wall! Your new project looks beautiful and interesting! That’s sure fun way to create blocks! Looking for to see how this ends up. Hugs! x Teje

  7. Way to make do. That print just makes me happy.

  8. Jackie says:

    Again your creative juices are flowing…even in your design wall. Such a smart lady you are 🙂

  9. Debbierose says:

    Hi Doreen – love the design wall and the design – lovely colours

Leave a Reply

