Merrily we stitch along…………………

On a beautiful Tuesday morning! My current quilty ‘nest’ is working out pretty well, with the addition of a small folding table we discovered in our shed (when we bought this Texas ‘cottage’/park model, it was with all the contents, so we’re still discovering little “treasures”!)……….

IMG_5146

This current project has been a good one to “test the waters” to see if doing any stitching on something larger than a small vintage piece is possible. The dimensions of this quilt are small (62”x 65”) and are about the max I would want to tackle with this set-up. Ms Juki Jr is performing stunningly and I’m anxious to try out a homemade brainstorm I had a couple of days ago……a story for a soon upcoming post!!!!!

I decided to keep the stitching simple, just a leafy vine/swirl, to keep the quilt soft and drape-y when it’s finished. Some photos……………..

IMG_5147   Yes, the center portion is finished. I do have some thoughts on those outer yellow half-triangles & yellow border. Stay tuned!

IMG_5148

IMG_5144

IMG_5143

Thread: (top) Mettler poly-sheen, 40 wt. (bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt.         Batting: Hobbs Heirloom (bleached) cotton/poly, 80/20.

Note: The Mettler thread (color #2596-soft yellow) is a 1st go-round for me and is lovely to work with. Absolutely no problems with breakage/shredding. (needle being used is a Schmetz “topstitch” # 14).

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Merrily we stitch along…………………

  1. carolyn montgomery says:

    i am fairly new to fmq and really appreciate the “stats” you gave about thread but especially the needle. why did you choose a top stitch needle and not a quilting needle and why poly thread and not cotton? i live outside houston in katy, where is your cottage?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello!!!!! I’m thrilled you popped by!!!! We purchased a small place in North Harlingen/Combs last Spring. We’re officially “Winter Texans”!!!
      I chose the “topstitch” needle (and generally do prefer it!!!!) cuz the eye is more elongated and the groove in the shaft is deeper to better protect the thread……especially important is using a more delicate thread like rayon. I prefer the poly thread as there is very little/no lint build-up that would “eat” the oil lubricant in the machine and cause excessive wear after a while. At home I have both a Juki 2010 (DSM=domestic sewing machine) and a Sweet 16. I prefer poly in all machines but a good cotton (Aurifil-example) is ok. If you have any further questions, do NOT hesitate to e-mail/contact me. I LOVE to “talk” fmq!!!!!!!! Hugs………and blessings, Doreen

  2. Teje says:

    Dear Doreen, your quilt looks so delicious! I’m happy you have a great place there for quilting and with so good light front of the window! Hugs! x Teje

  3. kathyreeves says:

    I am inspired as usual! This was a total free hand wasn’t it? I appreciate your photos, because the whole quilting aspect is still difficult for me to visualize when I look at a quilt top. Thanks for sharing!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, totally. I’m not one that likes to mark everything out (at all!) so if I can do a design that is free flowing, I’m in!!!! Thursday’s post will show my thoughts for the yellow border and that will require a few registration marks to center the designs in the half-square triangles. Thanks so much for stopping and taking a few moments to leave your sweet words……hugs………………

  4. Debbierose says:

    Doreen this is amazing. Thanks for sharing your knowledge.
    2 questions
    #1 do you pin/stitch/sorsy baste?
    #2 do you use a hoop/gloves to help hold fabric when fmq?

    Thanks in advance ☺

    • treadlemusic says:

      Great questions!!!!! I pin-baste (using 1.5″/#2 sized curved quilting basting pins. I, also, use “Machingers” quilting gloves. I know that there are other gloves but these are small enough and comfortable/breathable enough to fit and use in warmer weather. Let me know if you have any more questions!! Hugs……………

  5. Goodmorning Doreen! What a joy to see your fmq. I have been terribly busy, so I have not been commenting on blogs much. I know you understand.
    Your leafy shapes are lovely and go with the fabric very well. Love to see your ideas for the border.
    I hvae been working on a mini these last couple of days. It turned out lovely besides some printer ink problems. I used a lot of metallic thread by Madeira. Very happy with the results. Will show soon on blog I hope.
    Hugs
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      My WiFi/internet connections have been sporadic so I haven’t been able to get to my “Reader” regularly and miss your lovely stitchings!!!! So thrilled to see your sweet words!!!!! Tomorrow’s post (Thurs.) will have some sketched border thoughts. Hugs………..

  6. It is really looking great so far.

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    You picked a beautiful motif!

Leave a Reply

