(Not exactly) Design “Wall” Monday…………..

More like a WIP (work in progress), I guess! My “approach” to this piece is being worked out as I go. The center design was kind of a “no brainer” as the embroidery really provided the inspiration. (more photos may be found here)

   To anchor the sandwich together, I began with that center design, then moved to stitching both sides of the existing embroidery, filled in some feathers and then moved to the outer, scalloped edge and stitched just on its inner edge (when finished, I will cut away the backing/batting close to this stitching and either leave it or cover that raw edge with a narrow satin ribbon applied with hand stitching).

   The border design just had to be this………

..IMG_5297  This is quite effective, don’t you think????

   IMG_5298  Now, on to the background in the center area. I do believe that micro-stippling of some type will bring out the feathers. Stay tuned…………..

 IMG_5296

Thread: (Both top and bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly (70 wt). Batting: (single layer) Hobbs Heirloom cotton/poly(80/20). This is being quilted on my Juki TL2010Q.

   A busy week ahead (seems like they all have been that way!). See y’all soon……….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to (Not exactly) Design “Wall” Monday…………..

  1. Patricia Dauphinee says:

    Love, it as always, you do beautiful work Doreen. Did you ever take an art course or does this all come out of your head?

    • treadlemusic says:

      My dear Friend, YEARS/decades ago I took studio art courses at the U of M (art major/math minor!), so “art” has played a pivotal part of my whole life. BUT, I do spend time on the ‘net looking at others’ sites/Pinterest, etc, and give all my own ‘spin’/make it my own. Thanks so much for the great question!!!! Have a blessed day and hugs…….

  2. Linda says:

    LOVED your beautiful design/work! May I ask what kind of machine(s) you used to achieve this!
    I will look for your response as you time permits! Thank you!

  3. Very pretty…very creative ❤

  4. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    Thanks for letting us inside your head. It’s exciting to eavesdrop on an artist’s process.

  5. amjatha says:

    What ruler foot are you using on you Juki?

Leave a Reply

