The “Past” revisited…………….

Last week at the “Killer Bees” meeting, there were some awesome/clever quilting hints & short-cuts shared. One that I had shown was a quilt done when I was taking my first FMQ (Free Motion Quilting) steps (see here for that post). Of course, I was no different than many who want “instant” fabulous results without the required “practice, practice, practice”! The quilt remains as one of my favorite finishes!

IMG_5419   The applique was done raw edge and has some beading embellishments. I had immediately thought that ‘feathers’ was the perfect stitching motif……..BUT…….I had done, basically, NO machine quilting at all. In my clever(?) thinking, I figured that all I needed was a fabric with a feather-like motif to use for the backing and quilt it upside down…..and that’s precisely what was done!

   IMG_5424 The applique pieces were applied and the layers sandwiched. I needed to know where the appliques were positioned, so an outline stitch was done first

. IMG_5422 I, then, proceeded to stitch it, backside up, merely following the “paisley feather” print.  IMG_5420 IMG_5421

IMG_5423

So……..the next time you’re looking for that ‘perfect’ backing fabric AND quilting motif (yet untried!!!), there’s THIS option that may give you the desired results!

Happy stitching, dear bloggy Friends, with hugs always…………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The “Past” revisited…………….

  1. PeggyB says:

    What a great idea! Thanks

  2. Lee Franklin says:

    Great job on the quilting!

  3. kathyreeves says:

    This, I think I can do!

  4. Raewyn says:

    Great result – beautiful quilt!

  5. witchylin says:

    Top idea Doreen. 🙂

  6. Darlene Meadows says:

    Ingenious – now I’ll be looking at backing in a different light!

  7. ivoryspring says:

    Love the quilt!!!! Was just thinking of you and wrote you an email… 🙂

  8. mtetar says:

    Lively look and ready for The Spring as well as Summer . Blessings Always, Mtetar

  9. That is really beautiful!

  10. sharechair says:

    Just started machine quilting my first quilt. Jumping in with two feet ….. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  11. Thread crazy says:

    So pretty..love the backing and what a great hint. Glad to “hear” from you again. Much hugs!

Leave a Reply

