15 Minutes of (FMQ) play……..

Or however many moments you decide to set aside daily, will make such a huge difference in your FMQ “comfort zone” after a very little while! Sometimes, though, one needs some fresh ideas (read “mojo”) to get started. I’ve used this idea myself when I’ve wanted to give myself a “kick-start” when looking at a blank practice sandwich! Several years ago I saw a good solution to this dilemma. Take a piece of fabric, having an interesting print, and use it as a starting point for my stitching! I previously posted about this here. Here are some current practice sandwiches…………… IMG_5538  IMG_5539 IMG_5540 IMG_5541 IMG_5542

So……….grab a vibrant (or not) print fabric and get started!!!!! Spray-basting this all together makes for easy prep!!!!! Any thread will do, as long as there is COLOR!!!

The most important thing is……….have fun!!!!! There are no rules!! Just you and your machine…….bonding……………su-weet!!!!

Til next time…………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 15 Minutes of (FMQ) play……..

  1. Jan says:

    Doreen…..You are an inspiration to us all! I think I can, I think I can….I know I can!!! KB’s…just remember unless you try….you’ll never know if you can!!!

  2. Thread crazy says:

    Great idea…you are so good at making it all look easy Yes, I practice some but only use plain ole muslin sandwich!

  3. duchick says:

    Doreen, you have such great ideas! I will use this technique as I practice next time…it might even be tonight as it looks like fun!

  4. Rosemaryflower says:

    Wow, I want to try this!
    Of course you make it look easy. Gosh, I am really in awe

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think you will surprise yourself!!!! Just randomly cut through the print and visualize how the motif would continue….and then make it yours!!!! Have fun!!!!!!

  5. Fiona says:

    absolutely brilliant and I just love theresults…
    Hugz

  6. KerryCan says:

    This is a really creative idea–and your examples show how effective it can be!

  7. Debbierose says:

    Doreen thats incredible. One day I will give this a go

  8. Pat in WNY says:

    Doreen, that is absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for the inspiration! I definitely need to put my FMQ foot back on the sewing machine and get back in the rhythm.

  9. witchylin says:

    Another top Doreen hint. Thank you so much.

  10. That is really pretty! 15 minutes a day of FMQ is my downfall. I tend to put sewing before quilting because it’s easier for me. I might actually get better if I spent more time on it…

  11. Love this idea and your pieces! Very inspiring
    Hugs
    Esther

  12. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    Reblogged this on ARHtistic License and commented:

    Thank you, Treadlemusic. I’m scheduling this reblog for January 5, 2017.

Leave a Reply

