A ——decade birthday…………

Ummmmm, shall I just say it is one of those numbers I didn’t think would ever be  attached to me!!!! Anyhow, The day dawned bright and sunny, with a wonderful card from DH. Then we took off on 2 wheels for South Padre Island via some (very straight, but beautiful) back roads. We decided to grab an early lunch at our fave, “Dirty Al’s”. I had my usual Mexican soda…..IMG_5562 to accompany my blackened shrimp tacos…………IMG_5565

 

 

I know……I have this every time! But it’s the best!!

 

The view from our table..IMG_5563  Outside (above) and inside (below)…….IMG_5564

 

Next, we were off to my fave little thrift shop, run by the local Humane Society………..IMG_5567 

Picked up some beachy decorator pillows “for a song”!!!!!

The day was moving along way too quickly!!! Back across the water to a wonderful place called the Causeway Café in Port Isabel for a “Chocolate Decadence Frappe”………….IMG_5569IMG_5568 IMG_5570

Riding back was pure joy……especially knowing that the water in the pool at the resort would be so-o-o-o ready for us!!!! And, so I close out this special, many-decade year observance. I leave you with some very warm thoughts……and photos…..IMG_5572

IMG_5574

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A ——decade birthday…………

  1. kathyreeves says:

    A very happy birthday to you Doreen!

  2. Barbara says:

    Happy Birthday Doreen!

  3. Marlene says:

    Happy ‘0’ Birthday. looks like you had a wonderful day.

  4. Beth Ann says:

    What a lovely birthday you had!

  5. Kathy says:

    HappyBirthday Doreen!! I will share the joy at reaching this day in May with my own celebration at our clubhouse with friends and family from near and far in May! Wish you an excellent special year!! Your AMM classmate, kathy

  6. KrisR says:

    Happy Birthday, my friend! I can’t believe your age OR how you eat like you do and stay so fit. Amazing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m thinkin’ more of a miracle!!!!! Can’t give a reason……..it was an awesome day and thanks so much for the sweet greetings!!!!! Hugs to you, dear “Down-under” Friend…………..

  7. witchylin says:

    Happy Birthday Doreen. You are one year ahead of me for this magical number. Who cares it is only a number you don’t have to live by it. You know what they say don’t act your age act your shoe size. Glad you had such a happy day.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I LOVE that mantra!!!! In that case, 6.5 is the number……..awesome!!!!!! LOL!!!! Hugs……….. (I don’t feel any differently this morning!!!! hehehehe……)

  8. Jeanne says:

    Happy Birthday Doreen! Sounds like you had an awesome day! I wish you many more!

  9. Vicki in MN says:

    Happy Birthday my friend!! I think you had an awesome day, could you send some sun and warmth north. 69 deg. on sunday and freezin’ cold and dreary ever since.

    • treadlemusic says:

      That’s what I’ve heard. It should be around 60 when we return home (on the 15th). I do hope so cuz I/we really don’t have any winter duds along!!!!!! LOL! Thnx so much for the sweet greetings…….sending hugs, though…….

  10. A belated happy birthday to you, dear friend. Now I can write your name in my birthday book. It sounds like you had an absolutely fabulous celebration.

  11. Teje says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR DOREEN! I think no one feels as ‘the numbers’ so who counts lets just celebrate beign healthy and happy! Looks like you spent wonderful day! Hugs and kisses! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you SO MUCH!!!!! I think of you when I see these beautiful aqua waters at the beach!!!!! (or equally beautiful pool waters here at the resort…….). Hugs back at ya……………..

  12. Fiona says:

    Happy happy birthday … Any decade is worth celebrating xx
    Hugz

  13. Happy happy birthday Doreen,
    Kisses from over the oceaan,
    Esther

Leave a Reply

