Quilt shop “personalities”………

Are as different as each of us and our approach to ‘life’. Coming from a garment construction background, I’m always looking at quilt shop fabrics with a dual mindset………what would work well for a current/future quilt or how would the fabric translate into a possible garment application. Having said all that, the first shop we scoped out, on our way home from Harlingen (TX), was located in Kerrville, TX, and was possibly the most perfect melding of all things possible for fabric inspiration!!!

Grab a cuppa and let me take you on a (not so) quick tour.

Creations” is situated in a beautiful Victorian home and invites one to enter into textile dreaminess!! IMG_5648IMG_5649IMG_5650

The entry way already had my attention!!! IMG_5651  And a pleasant “Hello” greeted me.IMG_5652  Each room had a theme but the common ‘thread’ was “inspiration overload”!!! LUV!!!!!  IMG_5653 IMG_5654 IMG_5655IMG_5656 IMG_5657  IMG_5665 IMG_5659 IMG_5660IMG_5662 IMG_5663IMG_5664

         Of course, there must be   Bluebonnet fabric!

IMG_5667 IMG_5668IMG_5669 IMG_5658 IMG_5670 IMG_5671 IMG_5672 IMG_5673 IMG_5674 IMG_5675 IMG_5676 IMG_5677 IMG_5666  And thread …….. a rainbow of choices!! Totally yummy!!!! Located in the famous Texas “Hill Country”, the drive is gorgeous.

Our next stop was in Fredericksburg at “One Quilt Place”………IMG_5680  Situated on the edge of town, this picturesque setting was the epitome of Springtime in Texas!!!! IMG_5678IMG_5681  The building straight ahead is the actual shop, with the Cottage (right), available for rent, housing up to 8 for those fun quilty get-away times. Across the parking area is the Studio, where classes/workshops take place. Now, for a short tour………IMG_5682IMG_5683 IMG_5684IMG_5685  There’s definitely something for every quilter’s dream here!

Fredericksburg was our overnight destination that day and, because we were somewhat on a homeward schedule, we had an early breakfast at the Old German Bakery & Restaurant and finished our meal too early for the opening of all the amazing shops!!! Ugh! Well, next time. But I did snap a pic of the plate (yup, just the plate—with the vestiges of the wonderful apple coffee-cake—)my bread came on……….IMG_5689 I see quilt patterns!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

The rest of our drive through the winding, gently hilly roads of the “Hill Country” were filled with large areas that glowed with the brilliance of Bluebonnets and Indian Paint Brush. I/we look forward to returning next February for a few days (sound ok, Kathy????).

Now, on to the day………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Quilt shop “personalities”………

  1. mtetar says:

    Sooo lovely and the fabrics give you ideas of creativity. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  2. witchylin says:

    Those shops are quilting heaven.

  3. Mary says:

    You featured two of my favorite quilt shops.

    • treadlemusic says:

      They are amazing! The garment inspiration at Creations was truly a beautiful addition! Where are you located??? Thanks so much for popping by for a visit!!! Hugs……….

  4. Jan says:

    I didn’t go on the day-trip over to these 2 shops while our group was at retreat in New Braunsfel, TX, this year….so thank you for sharing such yummy eye-candy. Oh, yes…Creations gets the creative juices flowing!! 🙂

  5. Anita Henderson says:

    This was great! I will plan on visiting these shops next January! I went to a neat shop in Bandera but the shop in Kerrville looks great! Thanks Doreen for these wonderful posts.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • treadlemusic says:

      We missed the one in Bandera…….we were in the wrong lane for the necessary left turn!! Will get to that one next February!!!!! Hope to see you Tues. at quilting!!!!!!!!!

  6. You are so lucky to have a driving partner that doesn’the mind stopping at quilt shops. I haven’the found the magic method in making that happen yet. Thanks for the picture tours.

    • treadlemusic says:

      At first he was willing if there was an antique shop nearby or a good spot to read a book that was brought along. Now, he has gone with me to so many show events that he knows more about quilts/quilting than the gals who are also there looking!!! I’ve involved him in many of my studio projects (make-overs, “brainstorms”) so he has become quite knowledgeable about the art and interested. BUT….yes, I am lucky!!!!!

  7. Kathy Morton says:

    You know I am already looking forward to your visit!! I’m so glad you are enjoying the Hill Country as much as I do. Now we are both back in MN and we will enjoy more time together!!

  8. JoAnn says:

    I want to go. Beautiful, I love the first shop. Great ideas and fabric. Think Carol would shop hop to these places?

  9. Thread crazy says:

    Soo glad you made it to Creations…knew you’d love it. Every time we’re down that way I make time to visit the shop. Always find something I need or simply want. One Quilt Place is one cute shop; must stop by there real soon. Looks like you’ve got some traveling spots for next year…Texas is an awesome state as we’re like 5 states rolled into one. Hugs….

  10. LB says:

    Creations is one great shop! I’m pretty sure I’d walk out having spent some money … and I’m not even a quilter!

  11. And how many hours did you spend in these quilt shops? I don’t think I would ever get home.

  12. They look like great shops Doreen and I see quilt patterns too!!

Leave a Reply

