Layering and sandwiching…..but first, a recap of sorts……..

The last few days have found me/us “MIA” in blogland…..and ‘net-land in general. Yup, technology is great when it’s working but sometimes critical links need replacing, which happened this morning, so we’re back up and running…..yay!!!!

I hope y’all (oops……a slight Texas return!) had a great day yesterday. I know I did. The day started with a beautiful (albeit, brisk!) ride into Houston to church and a continental breakfast prepared by some of the guys—LUV! IMG_5814IMG_5816 IMG_5817 IMG_5819 IMG_5818 IMG_5820 

My fave kind of eats!!!!!!! Nicely done, fellas!!!!!!IMG_5821

Today, I’m trying to do a bit of catch-up with all the projects I have in my head!!!! So, the layering……..this first one is a vintage piece atop a ‘50s cloth with a silk batt over a cotton/poly. IMG_5822  That blue center just begged for something more and I had just the piece!!!! Notice the same tulips in both!!! IMG_5823 A better close-up…………….IMG_5824  Perfect!!!

The next sandwich is another ‘50s cloth……………………..a single layer batt (cotton/poly) for this one………..IMG_5825 

The battings are Hobbs brand, as always. Now, off to finish the pinning…………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Layering and sandwiching…..but first, a recap of sorts……..

  1. witchylin says:

    You are such a busy girl. Glad you had a good day yesterday. The breakfast looked scrumptious.

  2. Jan (Killer Bees in Harlingen TX) says:

    I was wondering where you’ve been! But I guess when Technology goes down…it usually doesn’t let you know in advance! Glad to “Have you back”! What a perfect 2 pieces to put together…the tulip pieces! Can’t wait to see your quilting! 🙂

  3. I love that you rode your bikes to church and that the guys “cooked.”

  4. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    I love those tablecloths. My mother had a few like those.

    • treadlemusic says:

      There must have been one on every (formica/chrome) table and many more on shelves during those years!!!! These are 2 of the cloths I grew up seeing daily!!!

  5. ivoryspring says:

    This will be a stunning one – I just know it!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is really appealing, isn’t it. I’m anxious to get going on it but tomorrow/Tuesday is my day to provide piano music in the Winona hospital. Thanks so much for popping in!!!!

  6. Sartenada says:

    Your bikes are mighty. Also, I love Your handicrafts.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you, my friend! My love of riding hasn’t shown any sign of dissipating! In the Spring, the freshness of the country air is totally intoxicating and revitalizing!!
      The vintage pieces have definitely taken on a major quilting focus of late. So glad to have you stop by……I’m still in “catch=up” mode here but can see ‘life’ taking a slower turn…………..hugs………

  7. KerryCan says:

    You’re really having fun with this direction of quilting on the vintage pieces! I think it’s wonderful and so creative–maybe you’ll start a whole trend!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I can see more of this lately. I think it has to do with the generation who has the time to do this and they have been the recipients of these vintage pieces from more than 1 generation. Finding a way to use them “today” is the challenge!!!! Your kind words are very appreciated….with hugs………….

Leave a Reply

