Throw-back Thursday………

But not too far back………last December the garage project (seen here) was halted at a skeleton stage for the winter. And, now, this is the view from our livingroom………..IMG_5829  Much better and definitely closer to the end!!!! Yay! So that’s the out door activity lately. But, you’re more interested(?) in the current indoor progress…..yes?????? Well, with the assistance of some handy tools (some originally purchased for my bridal wear sewing business years ago), I marked my little vintage layering…..IMG_5831  These French curves allow me to mark consistent shapes (when identical repetition is desired!!) and have been the inspiration, at times, when “creative brain freeze” assaults! Sigh……….So……on to the progress and current status…………(continuing from here)……….marked……….IMG_5830 IMG_5833

 

 

 

 

partially stitched…

 

 

 

 

 

and completely stitched…….IMG_5834IMG_5835

The markings were done with a Pilot Frixion erasable pen. I do like these a lot but am cautious in where I use them. I’ve not been disappointed with them on any of my vintage pieces, though!

Thread: (top & bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly (70 wt) Batting: Hobbs Silk over Hobbs Heirloom cotton/poly (80/20)

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Throw-back Thursday………

  1. witchylin says:

    Very nice. 😉 I am a fan of Frixion pens too. Even the deep purple one comes off straight away with a warm iron.

  2. Kathy Morton says:

    Absolutely brought alive by your beautiful quilting!!!

  3. Beautiful work! How long did it take you to complete?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ummmm…..not too long. I don’t think a couple of hours (I was doing other things , too!). The grid & feathers required such minimal marking and the feathers are FMQ (go quickly).

      • Wow, that’s awesome. I’m a slow sewer, even on my SS. I would probably go faster if I spent more time marking.

        • treadlemusic says:

          I totally dislike marking but it’s needed for certain situations and then I do it minimally. I so prefer to be completely free of the lines. We each have a personal approach to this art…..each just as valid as the other’s!!!!! Sending uber hugs………..

          • I’ve used frixion pens, or sometimes a pounce pad – the chalk from that last one really messed with my asthma though.

            • treadlemusic says:

              I have the “Pounce” pad but it is a tad too temporary for a “sit-down” type machine (IMHO)……Frixion or Sew Line work a lot better for me………

              • Oh yes, been there done that – the first time I used it, I did it on several blocks at once and by the time I got to the 10th block it was nothing but a huge blurry mess. I started marking a block, quilting a block and repeat. But that took too long. I’ve heard hair spray helps and washed out but I’ve never tried that.

  4. Ann in TX says:

    The quilting makes the piece beautiful!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s all about the quilting!!!!! LUV! I don’t really mind piecing but…….I would much rather …..well, it might be a titch obvious what the preferred part is for me. That’s why working with the vintage pieces gives the advantage of a whole cloth with some motif/designs already there…..perfect!!!!!!!

  5. Mary Nelson says:

    I love how you combined two vintage pieces. I have a few of the same type table cloths, some with stains. Your layering gives me a great idea on how to hide those stains.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Precisely!!!!!! This one was actually perfect (the dark spot on the white piece just wouldn’t leave!!!! Ugh) but the tulip theme worked so well!!!! Hope to bring it to the SEAMS meeting (finished or not!!!!! LOL!).

      • Mary Nelson says:

        Dorene I don’t get nearly as many things done as you do! My own projects rarely get put on my machine. But I can dream…..

        • treadlemusic says:

          It is the advantage I have that I do not have a formal business, although I do have 5 quilts waiting and another coming in shortly. Your thoughts/words are the same ones that I hear from others whose quilting business dominates. Someday………..keep dreamin’………hugs……………..

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Oh so grand and beautiful my friend. Love the stitching. I must look for some of those “french curves”…

  7. Suzy Webster says:

    Gorgeous….thanks for the tip about the french curves 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so welcome! Looking around my little corner of the world, much of what I use has other intended uses!!!! The phrase “Think outside the box” repeats in my head constantly!!!!!! Thanks so much for your visit!!! Please, come again!………..

  8. Kathy says:

    Absolutely beautiful work; would love to watch you doing it! Just bought a free motion foot to try my hand at it; have NO ability to be as artistic as you! Kathy

    • treadlemusic says:

      As you hone your quilting skills, and observe other’s use of the various motifs (swirls, feathers, pebbles, etc), you will discover that you, too, will do YOUR style of stitching….different than mine because it is like a finger print—we all have them but they’re totally individual. It does come with practice (THAT word again! LOL!) and you will amaze yourself……..please, stop back/keep me posted on your journey (for it is that!!!!)……sending hugs and encouragement……………..

  9. The garage looks pretty sweet. So does your work-in-progress.

  10. Debbierose says:

    You are very clever, didnt realize you had a bridal business

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup. Before 1999. I had a shop in our little town and then at home (worked better for the crazy schedule of very mobile bridesmaids!!!!). Before starting my own business, I did bridal alterations for 10 years at a shop in La Crosse,WI.

Leave a Reply

