THE season………………….

Is wedding season!! I didn’t have any prom dresses this year but have already begun on the bridal occasion alterations. There’s nothing like a well made dress to make alterations more tedious!! IMG_5922IMG_5923 

But, with a little patience tenacity, this multi-hem, strap-shortening project is a finish!!!!!! IMG_5925

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE season………………….

  1. Mary Nelson says:

    I have done a lot of alterations too and formal dresses are the worst! I ALWAYS hate the conversations that start with ” the bridal shop want $$$ for alterations” so I got your name from…. Yes!! No kidding the bridal shop wants $$$. Do you have any idea how much work it will be to basically reconstruct this dress so it fits like a glove? And you want to pay me pennies on the dollar for all that work? I can’t get the hourly rate I can make for my long arm quilting to do alterations so I politely decline and thank them for the call!

  2. witchylin says:

    I too know the feeling.Once or twice over the years after it is done they tell me there is a problem!!!!! Usually there isn’t it is just the bride/bridesmaid/teenage prom girl have lost or gained weight then there is a mad dash to take in or let out. I too have said no more. After the last one who sad I had spoiled her wedding dress because the hem stitches were too tight. Once she looked at it closely the whole dress was made with tiny stitches and there was nothing wrong with it at all. That completely finished me. I don’t like saying no but that is how it is after that upset. It lost me a good friend as well. I didn’t even charge her! The stress I felt was unbelievable. Like you Mary I am sticking to quilts.

  3. Debbierose says:

    Doreen wish you lived nearby. I could get you to make a mother of groom dress for me. I just don’t know what to wear

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is the absolute most difficult “category” of bridal wear to find. Most are either just too matronly, or just plain $$$$$$, or too much the cocktail look…..or just something that would have no future!!! Been there, have that!!!! Best wishes on your search………I remember making a significant number of these dresses for all the above reasons!

Leave a Reply

