Unpacking…..the first of several/many……….

Of the boxes from Mom’s condo. Up until she passed, she belonged to and was active in 2 to 3 bridge groups. Now, many of you will understand, er…remember, the days when such was very common. Some of these groups were afternoon groups and some met in the evenings. Mom had both. Consequently, many bridge/card tablecloths & napkin sets were required. That said, I unpacked the first box……………….yup……..vintage linen heaven!!!!!!!!

IMG_6000IMG_6001IMG_6003IMG_6002IMG_6004IMG_6006IMG_6010IMG_6011IMG_6013IMG_6014  Pillow shams……and, yes, there’s 2!!!!!IMG_6016IMG_6017IMG_6018IMG_6020  This last photo is 2 corners of a tablecloth with a solid center just begging for dressing up!!!!!

OK…….I think that’s all we can handle for today!!!! Since hyperventilation is about to descend, I will leave you with a thought. I will sort these a bit and, since I know I will NOT live long enough to complete all the ideas swimming around in my mind at the moment, I will let you know when new homes are needed!!!!!! Check back…it won’t, er canNOT, be too long. My little home over-floweth……….LOL!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Unpacking…..the first of several/many……….

  1. Merry Beth Grindahl says:

    You made me laugh. My house is not small, but the drawers in my kitchen are now overflowing with vintage linens from my mother and my mother-in_law. I am hoping to steal some ideas from you.

  2. Jan (Killer Bees in Harlingen TX) says:

    OMGosh. What a Treasure! There still are just a few here at Sunshine Estates that play Bridge, but the numbers are dwindling fast. You will go to sleep tonight with “Gumdrops” stitching in your head!! 🙂

  3. Mary C says:

    What a wonderful surprise! I can’t imagine opening up such a marvelous package.

  4. Beth Ann says:

    They are beautiful! I would have been thrilled to unpack those! Can’t wait to see what they end up being!!!!

  5. carolyn says:

    I have some similar linens, but they are in much worse shape. Can’t wait to see what you do with these!

  6. I have some similar things and don’t know what to do with them!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I guess I feel like I’m on a “mission” of sorts to rescue all those forgotten beauties that were so cherished years ago but have been largely overlooked because of our current decorating preferences. Quilting them is one way to bring them up to today!!!!! Yay for quilting!!!!!!!

  7. Patricia Dauphinee says:

    Oh Doreen what a treasure you have there. Love the little duck one, no that’s wrong I love them all. You are very lucky your Mom kept them all, My Mom would have pitched them, such a waste, But she wasn’t a sewer/quilter. Keep them, they are family heirlooms that you can’t replace.

  8. How beautiful! You’re going to have so much fun with these.

  9. Pat in WNY says:

    What beauties! Seems we both have treasures to love today! Can’t wait to see what you do with yours.

  10. Eva says:

    Please let us know when you decide to let go of some of these beauties.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I most definitely will! You see, because I’ve been unaware of the existence of these gems, I’ve been rapidly accumulating my own “vintage linen stash”……..bordering on out of control at the moment!!!!! LOL! Thanks so much for stopping by! Please, come again! Hugs……..

  11. Debbierose says:

    Great memories in those linens, lots of gossip and good times

  12. KerryCan says:

    Well, I guess you can imagine how this made my heart race! You have some beautiful things there–don’t just put it all back in the box. Those pretties deserve a loving home!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That’s my thought,too. Some are from both of my grandmothers. My destashing will probably involve all the little treasures I’ve picked up in recent days not realizing Mom had these! Stay tuned………………………

  13. witchylin says:

    Enjoy planning and quilting such lovely pieces and of course sharing them when you find the need to build a larger sewing studio to store them. They are lovely and must have brought back some memories of your Mom. What a pity the linen can’t speak.

  14. Thread crazy says:

    What a wonderful surprise for you…Christmas definitely came early for you. I’m anxious to see your ideas…I’ve gotten my Mother’s and a few of my grandmother’s linens, plus my husband’s family side. Yep, that’s definitely a few and even though I do still put them out on select furniture, it’s still way too many. So, anxious to see your clever ideas!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m thinking of incorporating several into blocks for a quilt and layering them (like I did for the “Tulip” quilt). We’ll see. So many projects at the moment!!!!LOL!

  15. Wow! My mom played bridge all the time too – I know she was in at least 2 or 3 different clubs and she was a sub on others as needed. How did she not have all of this when bridge night was at her house?

  16. Lori S says:

    Enjoy, it will be fun to watch what you create!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m so looking forward to all but first other projects have priority…..sigh (but they’re great ones, too!)…..so glad you stopped by for a visit!!!!! Hugs………

Leave a Reply

