Design Wall…..er, Table……Monday……..

A client’s quilt that is true “patchwork”. It came to me with the very specific request that it remain soft and drape-able after the quilting.The denser the quilt stitching the stiffer the finish (especially with certain battings). For anyone who does sit-down FMQ (free motion quilting) knows…..doing an even, all-over, larger motif presents some challenges. Because of the smaller vision field, keeping the motifs similar in size and evenly spaced demands that I visualize more than what is in front of me. It gets easier as the process progresses.

  The “blank canvas” this time………..IMG_6359    And the chosen motif………. IMG_6362IMG_6364   The quilt is approximately 84”x 92”……a generous size, to be sure!!!

Thread: (top & bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt (Turkey Red/top; Honey/bobbin) Batting: Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 (cotton/poly)

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Design Wall…..er, Table……Monday……..

  1. witchylin says:

    I have never made a quilt in that style of patchwork. Maybe I should as I have a lot of charm packs. It looks good. The quilting design should keep it nice and soft as requested.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I know what you mean (with the charm packs). A simple squares patchwork hardly is done any more and I think they are quite charming in their simplicity! Sending hugs from a soon-to-be toasty (93F) humid SE MN!!!!

  2. Debbierose says:

    Very pretty pattern for FMQ

  3. I know challenges wouldn’t stop you…

  4. Rosemaryflower says:

    I love it too!!

  5. Jeanne says:

    I was wondering about the story behind each block – I bet they are the leftovers from dresses, skirts, shirts, etc. We have a quilt like that and know where each piece came from. It’s very special. I love the quilting you’ve done.

  6. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    I’ve had some of those fabrics.

  7. Raewyn says:

    An interesting read and great choice with the quilting – what a beautiful finish this will be!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Such quilting requests are always welcomed as a challenge to “stretch” my thought pattern (literally! LOL!). I find it quite easy to stitch the more complex/tight patterns (maybe this is experienced by many sit-down fmq using DSM or fixed long arms?) but the larger, evenly spaced motifs require more intense awareness of motif size to have a pleasing finish…….my perspective anyway!!!! Hugs…..Friend!

Leave a Reply

