I’ve said it before…..

“Finishes” are definitely a ‘good thing’!!! To refresh your memory, this client’s quilt, is a healthy ‘queen’ size and is a perfect example of a scrap quilt (each square, finshed, is 3.5”). The fabrics range from 100% cotton to 100% poly! For the backing, the client provided a sheet (hems opened/removed) that must have poly but, if not, is a high thread count! IMG_6359   So, because the client wanted to be absolutely sure the quilting didn’t add too much stiffness, she wanted a very open motif. Enter “feather swirl” on a larger scale! The stitching is best seen from the back………..IMG_6377IMG_6381IMG_6386IMG_6387   For an idea of size, a ruler along side……IMG_6382IMG_6383IMG_6385 IMG_6379IMG_6380

Thread: (top & bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt. Batting: Hobbs Heirloom, 80/20 (cotton/poly)

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’ve said it before…..

  1. witchylin says:

    The open quilting should be perfect for your client’s instructions, not to be too dense.

  2. Mary Nelson says:

    You mentioned a couple of my pet peeves….polyester and sheets!
    Add to that the mix of weights of fabric and you had challenges. But as Tim Gunn says on Project Runway, “Make it work”. You sure did. I bet you customer will be thrilled. As I always say “Quilting makes the Quilt” and in this case it is so true.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ah, Mary…….so well said!!!! I am in TOTAL agreement!!!!! Yes, the “Make it work” mantra kept replaying in my head (especially with the several open seams that ‘magically’ appeared during the quilting!!!! Ugh!!!! Tell me…..just HOW could I have missed them while pin-basting?????? …..sigh………

  3. Sandy Gurney says:

    nice job …you sure do nice work…can;t wait for the classes this winter…have a great summer, \

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m so looking forward to being with all the KBs!!!! These days are a blurr of living……..sewing, quilting, wonderful clients, vintage pieces, family, local quilty friends/groups, etc!!!!!!!!! Thanks so much for popping by!!!!! Sending cool hugs (at the moment……heat wave by the end of the week….along with the rest of the nation!!!!!

  4. Dora Scheer says:

    I recently purchased two unopened percale sheets from the 1950s that I will use to make a new mattress cover. It will be interesting in twenty years or so to compare their durability to the previous mattress cover made from muslin and broadcloth.

    I recognize many of those prints from the 1980s when quilting cottons were hard to find and limited in number.

  5. Judy says:

    The quilting looks beautiful. You did such a great job. I hand quilt and would like to try machine quilting some time on my regular sewing machine.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I LUV to fmq using my Juki!!!!! Come to think of it…….I just LUV FMQ!!!!! ROFL!!!!! and thanks so much for your sweet words…..they mean the world to me, dear quilty friend………..hugs……

  6. Debbierose says:

    Doreen you have done another amazing job. Do you have a proper roller to baste layers or grueling back breaker table by hand method.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I use Sharon Schamber’s method. She uses long boards and hand bastes. I pin baste but do use the board method. My boards are 8 feet long and I work on my kitchen table which is actually my grandma’s dining table….solid wood with leaves that pull out on the ends to give me more than enough length. Here’s a link to my post describing/showing how I do it and the links to Sharon’s 2 videos: https://treadlemusic.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/pin-basting/ Any further questions, please let me know!!!! I love this method. The resulting sandwich is “spot on” for grain-line!!!!!!

      • Debbierose says:

        Thanks Doreen amazing way to sandwich. Thank you for always being sharing and answering questions. Much appreciated 😊

        • treadlemusic says:

          You are so very welcome! These tips and ‘shares’ is how we all learn & add to our art. AND, we need to know about these easier methods so our “slightly aging bones”(!) are taken care of……LOL!!!! speaking for myself especially……..hugs………..

  7. Linda "Cookie" Lawrence says:

    You did an awesome job on this quilt. I am sure she will love it.
    Linda “Cookie” Lawrence
    Mandeville Louisiana

  8. It really looks great and so cuddly. Nicely done.

  9. I always love the care and thought you put into each quilt.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you!!! Sometimes there is a definite statement as to what is wanted/needed, other times it evolves quietly……….and, sometimes it just depends on how much caffeine is in this quilter’s system!!!!!! LOL!!!!!!

  10. Beautiful! But everything you quilt comes out looking fabulous! Swirls are one of my go to styles. I just like them!

  11. debby says:

    Its amazing how the soft quilting elevates simple squares to something more. Beautiful. Now I want to make a quilt out of 3 1/2 inch squares 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      That’s exactly the way I feel about EVERY quilt I see!!!!!!! It’s the reason my stash is growing……I can ‘buy’ faster than I can ‘sew’!!!!!!! sigh……………..

Leave a Reply

