“Awesome” Alert!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It’s been a while since I’ve done any type of ‘food’ post BUT here goes….. First, the “back story”. Growing up in St. Paul, Mom/Grandmom and I would take the bus downtown to shop. One must-do stop was Dayton’s department store (now Macy’s) and their bakery. Yup, they had a bakery!!! And the most out-of-this-world bran muffins! Now, you may ask…..What could possibly be that great about a bran muffin?”!!!!!???? The muffin itself was moist and filled with plump raisins and, here’s the lusciousness……., they had an outside chewy layer of caramel and, on the bottom (top??, as they were actually inverted!) a slice of a wonderfully soft date. Heaven!!!! Fast-forward to a day ago when the site “Mennonite Girls Can Cook” posted a recipe for……….. “Sticky Bran Muffins”. IMG_6454          Yup…..that recipe is a  keeper!!!!!!! Oh dear! 12 of these beauties!!!!…..Well, maybe not at this very moment……………….IMG_6455  Closer to ten and a half setting there  right now….DH agree these are pretty good (understatement!!!)! The link is here-Mennonite Girls Can Cook. I’ve made many of their recipes and they are all fantastic!

        I do think their photo (above) is staged a tad better than mine but the date piece on the bottom is an absolute MUST to be authentic “Dayton’s Bran Muffin” (IMHO, you understand!) I leave you now…ummmm…..I think I hear a piece of sweet loveliness beckoning………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Awesome” Alert!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Pat says:

    Oh Doreen another gotta do….they look yummy. not today tho’ it chocolate zucchini loaf day. Have a good one.

  2. witchylin says:

    Must make these. They look so scrumptious. I love dates so what could be better.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I just put raisins IN the muffins and the date at the bottom cuz I was trying to duplicate the muffins I remembered. Also, I used Raisin Bran flakes not the All Bran that was called for. I did find the Wheat Bran in the cereal aisle….next to Wheat Germ. They are yummy!!!!!!

  3. catpatches says:

    Mmmm. Gotta say, those do look good.

  4. I am going to that website right now. I love this Dayton’s story.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You talk about vivid childhood memories!!!! Even when I was very young, good things to eat were pivotal!!!! These muffins sold out so fast that, if your timing wasn’t right, an empty shelf would greet you!!!! They were as popular as the “malt in a cone” (now known as “soft serve”) was immensely sought after at Donaldson’s Golden Rule department store (love that name, don’t you???). That store was located in St. Paul on 7th street across from The Emporium. Ahhhhhhh……blissful memories…….

  5. Beth Ann says:

    Those look amazing. Thanks for the links!

  6. KerryCan says:

    These look great, except I thought I saw a cat hair sticking out of one . . . but then realized the cat hair was stuck to my computer screen! Now the muffins look terrific again!

  7. Anneliese Friesen says:

    Thank you for your wonderful acknowledgement of these muffins! I like the date idea and
    love it when we hear from those who have tried a recipe.
    (from Mennonite Girls Can Cook)

Leave a Reply

