First steps……………….

In this next project (first shown at the end of this post), stabilizing the sandwich so that I can manipulate it under the needle of my Sweet 16 without the sandwich shifting or creating pleats/puckers somewhere in the initial process. I use “Essence” monofilament nylon ‘thread’ by Fil-Tec. I SID (Stitch in the Ditch) to define certain areas which serves to secure the layers, also.IMG_6758IMG_6760     There’s a couple of advantages with this product. First, it’s a fine thread that defines without becoming a visible shiny element and the other is the obvious advantage of being colorless so I can move from one area to another without reference to the piecing. The (slight) disadvantage is that these types of products are not heat tolerant and must be given a bit of care with heat/iron temps. I prefer the nylon over the poly as it seems to have a tad less shine.

To aid me in the straight SID stitching, I always turn to my “Line Tamer”………IMG_6765     This is a Plexiglas slotted ruler that is especially useful for anyone who does fmq quilting on a “sit-down” styled machine (mid-arm or DSM). You must have a ruler foot, however, to have the success desired and prevent possible major damage to the machine.

Now, off to do some “feather fun” on this one……………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First steps……………….

  1. doreen@foxdenrd says:

    Well, just like you have a ‘brown thumb’, I have a ‘whatever thumb you call someone who doesn’t quilt’ so I’m bowing down in reference to your patience and skill in making such a beautiful design!

    xxx

  2. Jackie says:

    Love it….you can do the neatest things, I’m always amazed!

Leave a Reply

