To answer a question………

“How does a quilter duplicate/stitch a ‘mirror image’ if a computer guided machine is not used or stencil is not available?” My latest “Angel” quilt (client’s) involved my wanting a balanced/duplicated feather design in the two wings so that the finish would be visually pleasing. Quilt in question……..here….and…….below……IMG_6589      I’m not one to do much marking (for a variety of reasons…..one: I really want to get to the stitching!!!!!! Hehehehe……..) but sometimes a few registration markings are necessary. Enter these wonderful tools………..IMG_6892     There are so many shapes to choose from and I always find one that is perfect for the desired feather spine! I ordered them off Amazon here. The photo below shows how I used them in this project (I used an air erase marker to give me the registration markings I needed)……IMG_6891       Noting the relationship to the figure, I merely reversed them for the other wing.IMG_6878       This was the idea I sketched, before starting, (on the Wacom tablet)……..IMG_6768     These French curve shapes are a mainstay of garment stitchers and carpenters alike! So handy! So…head down those carpenter aisles and see if what is needed may be found in those “outside the box” places!!!!! I hope this has given you some ideas on new tools to help jumpstart your FMQ fun. Now…….let’s go stitch!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To answer a question………

  1. I love how you used the French curves so creatively in the angel wings. It adds another dimension to the wings. Thanks for the tip and isn’t it true that you can find great useful tools by thinking outside the box and shopping the hardware/dollar/general merchandise aisles. Love it!

  2. PattyGee says:

    Treadlemusic – Your work is so inspiring. Thank you for the link to the french curves. Are you quilting this on your 2010q? What type of air erase marker are you using?

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did this one on my Sweet 16, but it would have been and easy one for the Juki! And “Collins” is the brand of marker….for both air and water erasable types. Most quilt shops have them (also, have used “Clover” brand)

  3. doreen@foxdenrd says:

    That’s a great tip Doreen! I don’t quilt though, but I’m enjoying living vicariously through you. 🙂

    xxx

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hey there!!!!! Sorry for the response delay……in Myrtle Beach at the moment….on our way to the OB. A month on the road. So thrilled to have you join my quilt-obsessed world! Hugs…..😎😍

Leave a Reply

