Out-the-door……and a tutorial………

That’s where this little beauty went……..IMG_6878  Now, a couple of last pieces of info to finish up. Thread……The blue sky background was my fave Glide, in the color of the wings……..IMG_6882  I wasn’t exactly sure how this would work, but it did! The client will be adding crystals to this whole quilt……most effective! The quilt motif is called (by myself and Karen at Karen’s Quilts, Crows and Cardinals) “Feather Galaxy”…..009     A step by step:

004005006 007 008     And for a video demo, see Karen’s wonderful visual (corrected link)                       Next……. the wings……IMG_6880     Sulky “Holoshimmer”….a glisteny, flat, ribbon-like metallic that picks up/reflects its surrounding colors. Lovely. I radically decreased the upper tension and bypassed 2 of the 3 “pretension” holes on my Sweet 16. My needle is a #16….I use this size pretty much all the time.                                               And, lastly,……..the angel’s dress…. Invisifil, 100 wt, in a pale lilac/violet………….IMG_6881 IMG_6884       One final peek at the backing of this one and it’s on to………..well, let’s see……….much to follow. Stay tuned………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Out-the-door……and a tutorial………

  1. Patricia Dauphinee says:

    This is absolutely beautiful, you have done a most impressive job on this quilt, too bad there is not a show you could put it into, 1st place for sure.

  2. Jeanne says:

    The angel is gorgeous! I hope you get to see it with the crystals. Feather Galaxy is a beautiful motif and it was perfect for this. I’m sure the client must be in love. Just fyi, the tutorial link doesn’t work for me but I was able to get to the video by going to Karen’s Facebook page.

  3. Becky Collis says:

    I just learned so much from your drawing and arrows!!! Thank you!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome. It was “reinforced” in my mind, too. I love this “duo”…..spiral swirl feather with pebbles fill. Can be dense, or not, but always produces movement (like a curved feather spine rather than straight). So glad you found it helpful!!!!! I so luv to read all the thoughts my bloggy friends jot down! Please, stop by and write again! Hugs……

  4. Thread crazy says:

    Gorgeous…love it. Will definitely check the link.

Leave a Reply

