Yes!!!!! It’s really me!!!………….

Just a quick recap……This morning, we left the Outer Banks (OBX)…..sob……and headed up the coast into Virginia and the Chesapeake Bay. Going from Newport News to So. Hampton Roads we traveled on I664 through the Monitor-Merrimac Memorial Bridge-Tunnel. Never done that??? How ‘bout grabbing a cuppa and check out a video (not mine) that will give you a good idea of the crossing. Our goal was an early afternoon meet-up with dear bloggy friend, Wendy (Ivory Spring blog), and a few moments of catching up on news……….IMG_6906      With busy schedules, our time was limited and DH and I hit the road with Culpeper, VA, as our overnight destination.

The motel check-in was fast and we headed out to find the “Minuteman Mini Mall” antique shop. So much fun and so little time. As usual, I was on a hunt for linens to quilt. I managed to ‘score’ this piece………….IMG_6912       It’s 26” in diameter and, again, the ideas are swirling……..but my machines are so far away!!!!!!! More time to dream and plan………

Suppertime came and we headed to the historic downtown area…..IMG_6907IMG_6909 IMG_6910

Seafood was the goal and catfish (DH) and shrimp (me) was found at the Davis Street Pier restaurant…….IMG_6908     Following that great meal, a short jaunt was in order and the downtown area provided the diversion…….including a cute little——-yup!—-quilt shop!IMG_6911 “That Little Quilt Shop”(their Fb is here) was the name and, although my purchase was minimal, the time spent was fruitful. Along with a license plate………IMG_6913 I gathered some info on an embroidery module for my Bernina 440QE. Time will tell where that’s going……….

  To be continued……………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yes!!!!! It’s really me!!!………….

  1. Kathleen Saladino says:

    Hi Doreen,
    You were 20 miles from me!! I live 20 miles East of Culpeper!! While I usually go to Fredericksburg, I have shopped in the quilt shop you were in!! Remember me if you come this way again. Your AMM classmate, Kathy

  2. It sounds like you are having a fabulous trip.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s been unreal! Will take me a while to process. Lots more on the agenda and some days left!!!! Places to see and, more importantly, people to meet-up with!!!!! Hugs………

  3. ivoryspring says:

    It was great catching up with you and Tom.

  4. LB says:

    Oh how I wish I’d been able to meet up with you. Culpepper is 3 hours from me! Isn’t it a lovely little town? I’ll look forward to reading about more of your travels

    • treadlemusic says:

      We’re already planning the next trek!!!!! It was quite the dream……..just under 6,000 miles total. Hope to get busy with the posts as soon as this weekend’s workshops are completed!!!!! So glad you popped by!! Hugs……..

Leave a Reply

