Stitching, stitching, stitching………………

,Returning from the East Coast just in time to prep for some demo time in Spring Grove (MN) for an event called “Festival of Quilts”. Seven years ago this event was a combo quilt show and sale. Now, it’s evolved into a show that is a sale…..meaning all the displayed quilts have a price attached and are for sale. IMG_7224 IMG_7222IMG_7223  This year was another successful one. There is always a trunk show/special speaker and this year was Jo and Kelli Kramer of Jo’s Country Junction.IMG_7237  It’s always fun to see and hear how such business endeavors get going! IMG_7236IMG_7238IMG_7240IMG_7239 

(‘Click’ on any photo to enlarge)

But…..let me get to my little corner of this event! IMG_7200        

All set and ready to talk……er…….visit……er……..stitch!!!!!!!!

 

 

IMG_7230

The piece I’m stitching on is a vintage (‘50s?) tablecloth I obtained while traveling in Tennessee a couple weeks ago……Kingsport, to be precise! The shop is “Haggle Shop Antiques”.If you are ever in their neighborhood, I would highly recommend a stop!!!!  DH & I stopped by this FAB antique shop and, well, this one was calling to me!!!!!! IMG_7184

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_7179           A beauty (IMHO!). After a bit of laundering, “sandwiching” and thread choosing…………IMG_7197 I was ready to add……..texture! My trusty (Ms.)Juki 2010Q accompanied me to the event and she performed beautifully!!!!!!! IMG_7244IMG_7242IMG_7243IMG_7246IMG_7247  For a bit of added info…..I began stitching (with the white thread)/outlining along the inside perimeter of the blue “ribbon” square & around the interior tulips. I was, then, free to remove the basting pins in the center white portion and quilt without interruption.

After I finished the interior, I moved to outlining the outside of the blue, including the rest of the flowers and cherries(?). The hand-guided FMQ (free motion quilting) continued into the next white section. I will continue to fill the white areas with the same FMQ motifs (no planning……just ‘wing it’!) and outline stitching the flower bouquets. I showed you some blue and pink threads that I may use to do some “thread painting” stitching on the flowers but have decided to not stitch anything on the blue areas to give your eyes a place to “rest”.

Definitely……to be continued…………

Thread: top (white & blue)…Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt and (pink) Sulky rayon. Bobbin..Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt. Batting:Hobbs Heirloom, cotton/poly,80/20

IMG_7228         One last photo of me in my “happy place”! Til next time……..stitching awaits!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Stitching, stitching, stitching………………

  1. Linda Sunderland says:

    From your smile it looks like you were having fun. The old tablecloth will have a whole new lease of life after you have completed it. Nice to see some of the quilts in the show/sale too.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was one of my fave things I am privileged to do. I have nothing to sell and so much to share about the art of quilting!!!! Saturday was especially busy!! Luv it!!!! Thanks so much for your visit!!!! Hugs to you………….

  2. Karen Goad says:

    Do you always use Essential Pro poly, 70 wt in your machine top and bobbin? no troubles with it? I have the Juki too and when I got it I was told that the only thread that owner had luck with in it was Presencia 60 weight (cotton) I had tried Essential cotton in it and had nothing but trouble with the tension, I switched to the Presencia as she had recommended and it works great I never have to adjust the tension – do you use a variety of thread or just the Essential Pro poly, 70 wt I wonder as I can see by looking at Connecting Threads that the thread you use is much cheaper and would be better for my budget

    • treadlemusic says:

      I use the 70 wt poly (Connecting Threads) 100% of the time in the bobbins of ALL my machines…..Juki, Sweet 16, Bernina, Elna. I see that the thread is on sale right now, if I’m not mistaken……..great pricing!!!!!! I’ve not had any problems with it. When I need a fine weight, matte finish thread on top, I will use it on top, also. I use all types of thread on top (finer/heavier/metallic) but have the CT on the bobbin always! Let me know if you have further questions!!!

  3. One of these years I must make this show. Your smile summarizes how much you enjoy this event.

    • treadlemusic says:

      My secret is out!!! LOL! I do look forward to this event…..been doing a fmq demo here for the last 5 years…..each year a little different angle!!! So happy you popped by!!!! Sending Westward hugs……………

  4. kathyreeves says:

    So glad to se you back, Doreen! I know that your trip was wonderful, but seeing your post made me smile. Of course you hit the ground running!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello!!!!! Never a dull/quiet moment here, I guess (insert ‘smile’). Tomorrow I’m off to take a rug hooking class in Door County (WI). A friend is teaching it and we will have a grand “holiday” together, too. Thanks so much for your sweet visit!!! Sending Autumn multi-colored hugs your way…………….

  5. Jeanne says:

    Glad you are home and stitching! I know I miss my machine when we travel (I don’t usually carry one along.) The show looks like fun.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was a very excellent event and always so much fun for me to visit with everyone. Many have been coming for several years and it’s great to hear how their fmq journey is going. Did some stitching on the cloth that I had at the event. Great way to unwind at the end of the day!!!!!

  6. You have transformed an everyday wonderful cloth into something amazing. Glad you had so much fun.

Leave a Reply

