A dreamer visionary………………

A combination that has given us a gift that I had opportunity to experience this past week. Meet Danish-born Jens Jensen….IMG_7300 a Chicago landscape architect whose personal quest for an environment that would encourage contemplation and a “clearing” of the mind from the “dailies” we all are bombarded with, that began with the purchase of a summer home on the outskirts of Ellison Bay, Door County, WI, and grew to become what it known today as “The Clearing Folk SchoolIMG_7274 With class offerings that pique the interests of most in a setting that is mostly familiar in a Kincaid painting but is a reality to all who exit life’s busy highway for some moments of inspiration.

   So grab a cuppa and come along on a joyous, albeit brief, pictorial tour of my experience last Thursday and Friday.

   The class was an “Intro to Primitive Rug Hooking”, taught by my friend Kathy Morton. The attraction for me…..Spend some time with my friend in a setting (Door County) that I’ve visited before but was a new one for her and an opportunity to (begin to) learn a new art form. Our home away from home for those brief days……….IMG_7251 a cozy, quilt covered(!) garret overlooking a very small portion of the breathtaking 141 acres…….some exterior views………..IMG_7307 ours was the upper right balcony/room. Because this was only a 2-day workshop, class was held in this building which, also, houses the gift shop and offices. IMG_7305IMG_7308IMG_7306

Known as “The Jens Jensen Visitor Center”, it provided more than ample workshop space for Kathy and her 2 students. Yes, I said 2 …… this particular time is especially busy in Door County and the overnight lodging availability was a challenge! IMG_7257      Looking down on our space……say hello to Kathy and Tammy (one of the sweet staff who was always on the move, providing all that was needed to make our stay wonderful!). This “protected time” allowed us to totally focus on the learning set before us………IMG_7259      Lunch was brought in from a nearby Gills Rock restaurant……..IMG_7260  and the evening meals were on our own (Kathy and I sought out “Al Johnsons” in nearby Sister Bay for one of our evenings). Kathy brought many of her rugs for inspiration……..IMG_7255 But, before I go any further, let me introduce my class……….. from left to right…..Beth, Kathy and myself……..IMG_7265 with Kathy holding her finished version of what Beth and I proceeded to work our way along! My project status, as of this morning………IMG_7311   At this point I am able to safely state….ummmmmm…….I am ‘hooked’ on the process!!!!!! It provides the perfect contrast for me. Handwork, involving fine thread w/ needle, is not something that I desire after spending my day at the machine, quilting, but……working with 1/4” strips of wool on linen is perfect.

To be continued tomorrow with more photos of “The Clearing” grounds/facilities.

Off to Spring Grove quilt guild………….

Note:each photo may be enlarged by “clicking” on it!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A dreamer visionary………………

  1. witchylin says:

    Mmmm I could spend many a happy day in that beautiful setting. Rug hooking is well known to me, my Dad made lots of rugs for my parents home and they were always very personal designs. It is a very relaxing hobby. Hope you stay ‘hooked’ for a long time to come.

  2. witchylin says:

    No I haven’t as Dad always made them. My thumbs are too rheumatic to use the hooks these days. Dad’s rugs are no longer in use as they wore out some years ago. I do wish I still had at least one of them. 😦 Look forward to seeing the finished article and some more that you make in the future.

  3. How special to have such a small class. Fabulous venue and surroundings. Looks like the kind of place to spend a loooong time there creating!

  4. Jeanne says:

    What fun!!! I would love to take a class at The Clearing – I often look at their offerings to see if something works in my schedule. It’s such a gorgeous place. I’ve done some primitive rug hooking – it is fun. Your project looks fantastic – very even which isn’t the easiest!

  5. KerryCan says:

    I recently had a similar experience, getting away to just focus on weaving. It’s such a gift, to be able to enjoy a pretty location and do nothing but be creative with like-minded folks!

  6. Beth Ann says:

    And that looks like so much fun! I need a retreat like this !!!!

Leave a Reply

