Never just one…………….

Project at a time in progress keeps one’s “creative juices” flowing nicely (in my world, at least!!!). In the midst of the current 50s vintage cloth, I have 2 fascinating clients’ quilts needing some attention. Done by gals in my Texas group, these will become part of a group display next winter. Because I quilt on a sit-down Sweet 16 machine, basting the quilt may be a challenge if the top is large. One of these falls into that category as it’s a generous 88” by 104” (approximately). The sandwiching process is done using 8’ long boards that allow me to layer the backing, batting and top accurately keeping everything “on grain”. This process may be viewed here and is shown as a hand basting method by Sharon Schamber. I choose to use quilters’/bent safety pins, however. IMG_7339       I begin by placing my (very) old cardboard gridded garment sewing cutting ‘board’ on my table (this gives me some guidelines and protects the table surface from pin scratches). I begin with the top (right side up) and lining up a border seam line with the boardIMG_7341. Securing with painter’s tape, I begin to roll it onto the board.IMG_7342 Keeping the piece’s seams lined up as I roll is key to keeping it ‘on grain’ when completed.IMG_7343    The narrow side border only appears to be off-set as we are viewing the wrong side/seam allowances lined up with the right side. IMG_7344     As it is rolled, it is fairly easy to see that the straight edge of the board remains straight with each of the rows as a double check.  IMG_7345     Almost done…………….Next the backing. This may be a bit more challenging to line up, as I actually have to do a close visual as to the thread directions (warp & weft), but it’s all good!!!!! IMG_7346       The backing is placed right side down so it will unroll correctly!IMG_7347   Done!!! 2 quilts pin-basted and ready to join up with Ms Sweetie & me for some quilty fun!!! The weekend is here and a workshop at a (not so) nearby quilt shop is on my schedule today. Report to follow………… Til next we meet………there’s stitching to be done, hmmmm??

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Never just one…………….

  1. witchylin says:

    It is so much easier to smooth out a quilt when you can use an 8 foot board. I don’t have a sewing room or studio so have to try to pin out my quilts on my kitchen table or the floor. Not always a simple process however crossing my fingers and smoothing everything out often is my best option. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      My “kitchen table” is actually my grandparents dining room table that has a slide out extension (12″ each) on each end to give me about 98″!!!!! A true “farm kitchen”.

  2. kathyreeves says:

    I’ve been doing mine on the floor, so this looks like something to try. Thanks for the pictures and “lining up” info.😊

    • treadlemusic says:

      I hope you can check out Sharon Schamber’s YouTube video for details. She does it with a smaller piece but the process is the same (other than I pin). The gridded cardboard cutting mat is secured to the table top with tape so as not to slide during the process. So much better than the floor!!!!!!

  3. Jeanne says:

    I love Sharon’s method (I use pins too) – not sure I could pin a quilt without it anymore!

  4. Debbierose says:

    Thanks for the lesson Doreen

  5. Kathy says:

    Just took two classes with Sharon at the Sew Expo in Fredericksburg the beginning of October!! Awesome!!! Eager to try this with the lap quilts I make for my Prayers and Squares ministry at church!! She highly recommends hand basting, though!! I got pins myself and will try both as I’m new to this method.

    • treadlemusic says:

      On smaller pieces, I can see basting, but I have been using this method for years with pins and have never had any “pleating”/shifting on any of the layers and removing the pins as needed is no big deal. I’ve done King sized quilts this way with great success!!!!!! I feel it takes way too much fussing to baste. IMHO………. Look forward to your assessment!!!!!

Leave a Reply

