Your thoughts on ‘shopping’?????

And, while I’m waiting for your lovely comments, I will tell you that I very much dislike that activity….unless…..there’s some type of fabric involved! Grocery shopping used to be more fun than these days. I’m not sure if it’s strictly the “sticker-shock” prices I’m seeing lately or the fact that every time I go the store has rearranged some portion/department which slows down the whole procedure (their goal, perhaps????). Anyhow, back to the question. During Monday night’s dreamy sleepy time, it was laid on my heart that a certain person was in need of a “you’re not alone” gift and a certain book was indicated. Now, that book could not be gifted with some type of appropriate attire! No gift shopping needed!!!! Book…..’check’ (already “in house”)! Ahhhh…..the ‘attire’. Now, that’s where my stash comes in. After some really fun FMQ stitching, we have this……….IMG_7400  I made a newspaper pattern (took me back to grade school days when, at the beginning of each year, we were required to make such covers for all our text books!), proceeded to pull the fabric and thread and head over to Ms Sweetie for the FMQ fun. More of the finish………………IMG_7406   Taking a measuring tape and, with the book closed, measuring around from back cover edge to front, (adding a titch for quilty bulk) gave me the length but, then, the type of closure…..what???? The easiest is a flap, although some do a zipper and completely enclose the book. Uh-uh…….way too much…..the flap will work perfectly and give me a place to put the pen pocked! IMG_7408 IMG_7403   Some quilty close-ups……..IMG_7409 IMG_7411 IMG_7412    A Velcro closure and…………..IMG_7402     Done!

Thread:(top) Glide, (bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70wt. Batting: Hobbs Heirloom 80/20, black. This little project was stitched on Ms Sweetie (Handi Quilter Sweet 16)

Today is an “out-of-the-house” day…rainy and a chilly 40F. Definitely appears to be and end of October/beginning of November type day!!!! What’s goin’ on in your little corner of the globe?? Inquiring minds would luv to ‘hear’………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Your thoughts on ‘shopping’?????

  1. Lynne Stucke says:

    Terrific!! I can see a couple of these going into various Christmas stockings!!! Thank you!

  2. Jan says:

    It’s a very calm and mostly cloudy morning in the Valley. Temps in the 70’s going to be in the 80’s. I should get out and golf with the women’s Wednesday golf, but it’s still a bit too humid for me. Today I will finish my blocks from the mystery quilt that the MN Guild had this Summer. I plan to take them to our KB retreat to Rockport to get it sewn together! Have a great day!!

  3. Patty Klein says:

    I too dislike shopping unless fabric is involved. Will be doing a lot of that next week here at the Houston International Quilt Festival.

    Love the book cover, could use same idea for a tablet I bet.

  4. Tracy says:

    I feel grocery shopping is finely catching up with the technology era❗️ Many grocery stores near me are offering curbside pickup. So much easier to sit at my computer and make my grocery list in my PJ’s with coffee in hand. I found that I save so much money by not going in the store I now buy all my meat at a specialty store.
    But I am saddened by not going fabric shopping in local quilt stores. To see the fabrics, and the fragrance of fresh bolts, but my addiction is petting them. And the camaraderie. A wonderful quilt shop near me is closing. So, so, sad.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Quilt shop closings are everywhere (with such varied reasons!)…..I/many share your sadness. The on-line grocery thing is a great idea…….great quality on each item and no impulse shopping (saving me tons if I could do the on-line thing!). The next best thing is to send DH with the list!!!! LOL!!!!!!

  5. Rosemaryflower says:

    this is a lovely book cover.
    Most of the time I do not like shopping because it involves traffic and too many people or too large store.
    I live in Northern Virginia. I do not like food/household items shopping. Mostly food. I used to enjoy cooking, but now I do not, so we eat a lot of already prepared food, or I just make a lot of something and freeze it.
    Any other type of shoppng I do not enjoy either.

    Fabric shopping is amazing. Even online fabric shopping. I want everything — as if I am starving over here haha

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup…..your approach is the same as mine!! Thanks so much for your kind words about the cover. Working on a pattern post at the moment. My stash supports the “everything” thought!!!! LOL!

  6. You are just so creative. What a lovely, and practical, book cover.

    On the topic of shopping. I don’t like to shop. Unless it’s at a thrift store or a garage/yard sale. Always fun to poke around for treasures. Ever since I started shopping at Aldi, grocery shopping is easier. The store is so small and the prices considerably lower than other venues. Just sayin’.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I always forget about Aldi. The one in La Crosse is on the North Side (near the mall) and we avoid that whole area!!!!!! I’ve, actually, never been there!!!

    • Dolores Good says:

      I didn’t know that about Aldi, have to give that a try. Wish I could quilt like your book cover. I quilt but feathers are not doable for me.

      • treadlemusic says:

        There are some great YouTube videos that helped me. Jamie Wallen has some valuable tips that really work. BUT…there’s no substitute for practice, practice, practice…..doodle in a sketch book and the machine….15 min. EACH day. Let me know if you have more questions…..hugs…….

  7. Mary C says:

    Such a cute gift! I am sure the recipient will be blessed by your kindness.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It has been gifted and it was just the perfect thing (I really knew that the original thought must have been a “God thing”……it really came out of “no where”……..note:always follow those inspired thoughts/dreams!!!!). So glad you stopped by!!!!!! Hugs…….

  8. Darlene says:

    Duh! I’m obviously not awake yet!! Kindly ignore my other comment…

  9. Summer Daisy says:

    A very beautiful gift ♥

  10. Pat in WNY says:

    I love the book cover, so beautifully quilted! I too hate to waste good sewing time working through the grocery shopping, and living in the boonies we don’t have too many options and everything is terribly expensive. Even more than grocery shopping I absolutely abhor shopping for clothing, and malls are way too congested for my country girl liking. Amazon to the rescue for most purchases including Christmas shopping – having everything delivered to my door in two days is my kind of shopping!

    • treadlemusic says:

      This rural gal(!) luvs not going to malls, large/mega stores, etc! The on-line shopping gets my attention as does more local purchases supporting my home town grocer. It is a balancing act, though, weighing my time, gas, etc with the “lower” $$$ that the larger venues offer. Usually local and on-line wins out!!!! Thanks so much for taking your time to leave a comment!! I really appreciate it. Hugs……

  11. witchylin says:

    The book cover is so special. Love the quilting and the colours.
    I too dislike shopping except for fabric. I even dislike clothes shopping. As there is a shortage of fabric shops in my area I have to buy most of my fabric on line. Wish I could visit some of the wonderful quilt shops you have across the pond.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh Lin!!! I wish you could visit, too!!! We are sooooooooo spoiled!!!!! Clothing?? UGH!!!!! My closet is so packed now!!!!! Sending hugs from a windy, rainy, chilly (but soon to change!) S.E. MN……………………….

  12. Barb Czarniecki says:

    Hi- I just found your site and am inspired! I grew up in Rochester- where do you live in relation to there? I am currently living in Colorado after moving around with my Air Force husband for 30 years. It’s a little strange not to be moving every 4 years!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am beyond thrilled you “found” my little corner of the cyber world!!!! I LUV my bloggy friends and treasure their visits. I really do such a variety of subjects….but all are what is running through my life at any given moment. Sending you an e-mail…….hugs……

  13. Fiona says:

    I love love your book purse and as always your feathers are inspiring. I can’t stand shopping …. in and out is what it’s about!! I have family members who think it’s a treat to take me shopping when I visit!!! aaaargggghhhhhh
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      Shopping is not a pleasant diversion in my “books” either. There are those (of the “in-law” persuasion(hehe) think shopping is wonderful but…………. I’m glad you liked the book cover idea. I probably will be using it in the future. Hope to do a reasonable pattern post soon (tomorrow????? LOL!). Sending uber hugs………..

  14. I dislike grocery shopping. People in and around the grocery shopping are rude. And my time is valuable now more than ever, because as I get older time seems to fly away.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Time flying away seems to be a prevalent malady! I think ppl are in such a hurry (never an excuse for rudeness!!!!) and not mindful of respecting others…..or themselves!!!!! Way too much technology has successfully allowed us to interact w/o actually being face to face and ppl are sadly adopting very inappropriate sensibilities. I know that sounds really cynical and I’m not giving in to that!!!!!!

  15. Jackie says:

    Oh I just love that book cover, you are so talented Doreen, I loves seeing all your creativity in the projects you make. As far as me… well I love to shop, probably one of my favorite past times!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is our DILs (and her family) fave pastime, also. Our budget has always been way too tight and when I shop, I buy….not always good…..so the desire has been replaced with dislike (except fabric!!!! LOL!)…………..This really was a gratifying project.

  16. kathyreeves says:

    I don’t like shopping either, and avoid it. I usually do my research on line, then find the store in town that has what I need, and go there to bag it! Now I could wander in a fabric store or book store for hours….love your gift idea, the feathers are magnificent!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your approach is exactly ours….with one addition (if it’s a major purchase), we also check “Consumer Reports” magazine when possible. Thanks so much for the sweet words. Feathers are my “go to” motif…….LUV!!!!!

  17. Debbierose says:

    Nifty book cover. I totally agree about shopping, I avoid it unless absolutely necessary

  18. [D] Lovely idea, lovely work: I’m wondering whether I can do something similar. Here in the islands, more than three weeks of very very good autumnul weather has finally given way to wind and rain. That’s better! Now that means we have good reason to put aside outdoor work and pick up those indoor pursuits that have been largely neglected since March. As I’m still recuperating after an operation, weaving and spinning are no-nos, but I can knit and crochet … and read, and listen to the radio.Oh what would the worth be of a life lived without seasons!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yay! for indoor creativity!!!! My vote is for a “little” change from now through Christmas (yup, a titch of the ‘white stuff’) included, then we head to south Texas. After 44+ years here on our little hobby farm, hubbs is tired of the snow removal routine that can take up to 4 hours. I do like the seasons that southeast MN offers, though!!!!!! The rustle of the dried corn out our windows right now are quite soothing!!!!!

  19. LB says:

    What a lovely gift from such a thoughtful friend! You are a blessing to your friends

  20. mtetar says:

    Rich Color and so is your craftsmanship. You’re always at your best. Blessings Always, Mtetar

Leave a Reply

