Stop Selling Yourself Short!

These are some thoughts that I’ve tried to put words to for some time, so, rather than re-invent the wheel, I will allow Cathy to express them for me. Please, take some moments of your precious time and ponder, their ramifications affect all who view themselves as “artists” in the fullest sense of the word!!!!

GypsyWood Musings

Let’s stir the pot a bit this morning…If quilters want to be viewed as artists then they need to start acting more like artists. They need to demand respect for themselves and their work. They need to begin viewing themselves as in the same league as, not only fiber artists, but painters, singers, actors, sports stars, etc. They need to own the value they are bringing to the table. Stop selling themselves short!

I know you’re wondering what on earth I’m talking about so let me give you an example. While in Houston I was approached by a company feeding me all kinds of complements about my exhibit, about the booth, about bringing leather to the market and asked if I would do a video for them, at my exhibit, telling everyone how I use their product in my art. They assured me thousands of people would see it and wouldn’t…

View original post 661 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stop Selling Yourself Short!

  1. I just read this post and commented thereon. I agree 110 percent. I’ve been dealing with this again this week…dealing with those who want to use my images “for credit and a link.” Sigh.

  2. Sandy G says:

    so very true…My husband has always been there by my side telling me to charge MORE..he says you make X $ working…and your time is worth X$…stand up for yourself…NO ONE else will…

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s a tough mentality to override……I’ve been trying to “educate”my clients, and everyone else I have opportunity to, for DECADES (used to have a formal wear/bridal sewing business….significant numbers came to me for cheap/low $ rather than quality).Living in the Midwest/MN, it’s an uphill “battle” for sure cuz there’s always that ‘someone’ who is skewing the prices downward!!!!!!!! Ugh!!!!!!

  3. witchylin says:

    I agree quilters need to start to value themselves and what they do before we can expect others to value us. The hours of work and thought that go into a quilt are more valuable than the thread and fabric. People who ask me to make a quilt nearly always walk away when I tell them the price. Of course there are some who don’t bat an eyelid and ask me to go ahead no matter what. They appreciate the work and time and I appreciate them for choosing me to make their special quilt.

Leave a Reply

