Talkin’ “snowballs”………………..

As long as my view is this……IMG_7689       how ‘bout an opinion…………… For you…..is it THIS kind of snowball………IMG_7695     or, is it THIS kind………..IMG_7648   For those unfamiliar with the term (as applied to a piecing process/shape), to “snowball” a block means to apply a small square of contrasting fabric to each of the 4 corners of a square of fabric….in essence, ‘knocking’ off the corners and making it somewhat round…..as in, kind of a rough snowball. Here is a basic tutorial. The starting block size is the determining factor for the size of the corner patches that are applied. Cutting Fabric - Snowball Quilt Block     I think most people who know me would know that it’s THIS type that’s MY fave……….. IMG_7649   Sorry, the “big picture” will have to wait til a bit later………….So, which type of snowball is your preference????

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Talkin’ “snowballs”………………..

  1. witchylin says:

    I have to say BOTH. It is fun to get outside and play in the fresh crisp snow. Those kind of snowballs can bring a lot of laughter in the fresh air. However the other kind of snowball can be just as exciting when those little squares at the corners are cut off and a totally different quilting design is revealed. My only downside thought about quilting snowballs is the waste. Usually the off cuts are too small to use in anything else.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ahhh, yes, there is that thought of “waste”…..but….you did say that the cut-offs are too small to be of use elsewhere (in most cases….unless the feature fabric/block is large, then you could end up with some half-square triangles.). Snow is falling as I write this but the temps are the upper 30s. A bit of freezing rain is slowing car traffic a lot!!!!!
      As a child, snow balls & forts were wonderful……less so now (for me)………

  2. Vicki in MN says:

    O course it has to involve fabric! Unless the grandsons come over to play in the snow:-)

  3. Jeanne says:

    As I’ve gotten older, I love looking at the white stuff but not being out in it. Now, the second kind of snowballs – I love looking at and making! I used to save all of those tiny cut off triangles and once made a quilt from Sunday Morning Quilts using them. As my grands told me, “Winter is really here!”.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes…..it is really here!!! A friend did save and use these cut off tid bits but I’ve not had that inclination!!!! These snowballs are from a charm pack so the cut offs are really too small to be of use!!!!!! Staying INdoors and stitching holds a better appeal for me!!!!

  4. Beth Ann says:

    Fabric snowballs for sure! Mr. Diamond is in North Dakota today and cancelled his Fargo appointment due to the weather. Headed to Minneapolis now and I don’t miss the snow at all!!!!

  5. Barb Czarniecki says:

    as I get older- definitely the fabric ones!

  6. If I was a kid, I’d say the first (real) snowball. But since I’m not, I choose fabric.

  7. Jackie says:

    The cold wet ball is my favorite, I love winter!

  8. Sign me up fo the fabric snowball over the wet frozen kind any day!

Leave a Reply

