Let’s talk gift cards……….

Do you give them?? Birthdays, Christmas?? We (DH) never gave them years ago. We felt that shopping for that special gift was part of the giving experience. I have to say, that has definitely changed with the reality that all those we gift to are wonderfully blessed and giving has become a bit of a challenge. Enter the appropriate gift card, one that is paired with the interest of the one receiving it. OK, that’s settled. Now…..how to wrap/present it?!? Cards really don’t make much of a statement regardless of the amount ‘loaded’ on them. IMG_7773        I searched out my (much neglected) felted wool pieces, raffia and glistening metallic thread. Cutting a piece 4” wide by 9” allowed me to fold it in half for the perfect size. Pinking the edges made for a very nice finish. Before stitching up the sides, I embellished a bit using Sulky’s “Holloshimmer”………..IMG_7776   In order to have a horizontal thread feed (oh so necessary for this flat strand configuration), I always have to get a bit creative with Ms Juki!! A clamp and large cone stand solved that!!!! I stitched the raffia “handle” on as I stitched the sides.IMG_7774 The felt has enough loft so any decorative motif looks great on the single layer. It didn’t take long and all 3 needed gifties were completed!……IMG_7775    Again, the top thread is Sulky’s “Holoshimmer” and the bobbin is Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly 70wt.

A small note…….I stitched the sides using the fmq setting I had going. Perhaps, this idea would work for some “problem” gift presentation that you may have???? Now…..back to “elf-ish” tasks………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Let’s talk gift cards……….

  1. Great idea! And they can be used as Christmas tree ornaments next year!

  2. What a great idea! I wonder if I have any felt around the house that I could do that with? I do have some flannel and that might work too.

  3. Raewyn says:

    A great idea for those little gift cards…and I do like the suggested about using them as ornaments!

  4. Debbierose says:

    Brilliant idea Direen. I will do these for next year, as this years are all taken care of 😀

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think most ppl have their ideas well in hand at this point. Normally, I do too but this year has been a very different year! I’m glad you like the idea and just maybe I can remember to pull it out as a post earlier next season……..maybe!!!!! LOL!!!!!

  5. KerryCan says:

    These make the giftcard much more special, I think! And, YES, to the idea that they will become treasure ornaments in years to come.

  6. Vicki in MN says:

    Cute idea! My daughter and I talked about the gift cards, we love to receive them but kinda hated giving them as it seems impersonal…contradiciting ourselves I know. I got over it and gave them!! But now we don’t exchange gifts at all and just enjoy being together.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The “danger” of SOME cards is that there may be some hidden usage costs that are also “eaten” off the card (such as “Mall (gift) cards”. We have all cut way back but still do an exchange cuz the great grands’ eyes sparkle!!!!!

  7. These are so cute. You could make and sell these, you know.

  8. jackie says:

    These are lovely Doreen, such a cute idea!

  9. So cute and creative! Make me one (or two)! lol

    xxx

    • treadlemusic says:

      That would be easy enough to do but probably wouldn’t make it for this Christmas’ needs!!!!!!……….If you remember to request(!) in the summer, I think it would actually work fine……seriously!!!!! Sending a tad warmer hug, or two………. 😀

Leave a Reply

