I know I’m back in Texas when……..

Meals begin to have a certain theme!!! Yup….seafood! A quick fish taco is always good, topped with a bit of guacamole, and served with a “side” of sliced jicama (sprinkled with a bit of Adobo seasoning)……..IMG_7851    And there must always be shrimp!!! IMG_7849   This is a super easy fix that Pinterest provided last year! You say you’re curious about the recipe?? OK, let me give you the very quick run-down……….

1.5 pounds of raw/uncooked shrimp (these were deveined only)             

1 stick salted butter

1 med/large lemon…sliced thinly

1 package dry Italian dressing mix

Melt the butter in a 9”x 13” edged pan and place the lemon slices in a single layer on the bottom. Sprinkle about 1/3 of the package of Italian dressing mix over. Place the shrimp on top of these layers and sprinkle the rest of the seasoning mix on top of the shrimp. Bake @ 350F for 15 to 17 minutes (til the shrimp are bright pink). Enjoy!!!! A great no-fuss way to fix perfectly cooked shrimp. Served with a side of rice……….wonderful!!!!IMG_7850    Stay tuned for more happenings of the quilty variety shortly…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to I know I’m back in Texas when……..

  1. Janis Baethke says:

    This shrimp looks so good! I need to give it a try! So glad to have you back! 🙂

  2. witchylin says:

    Yum! A recipe to keep until the weather gets warmer here, in about 5 months time. LOL

  3. I would love this food. Especially since I love shrimp.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I fixed this for Super Bowl Sunday last year and couldn’t believe how wonderful it turned out, so had to have another go at it when we returned!!!! Really is pretty amazing!

  4. Vicki in MN says:

    Lucky you tucked in nice and warm…well I am too if I wear a sweater and stay in the house(which I do get to do a lot). It’s deep freeze weather again this week. low single digits as a high.

  5. Emily says:

    I love the guilty variety. Thanks for the recipe!

  6. ivoryspring says:

    Oh – those shrimps!!!!!!!

  7. kathyreeves says:

    I bet fresh shrimp is to die for and this recipe looks wonderful!

  8. Mary says:

    Welcome back to Texas! It’ll warm up soon. Reading this post made me hungry.

  9. Debbierose says:

    Fish Taco – heard of it never tried it. Perhaps one day soon. I’m not too adventurous with my food

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think most ppl have to get passed the whole name of it!!! I’ve had them made with shrimp, mahi mahi, cod and (the ones I show in the post) Gorton’s brand crumb coated fish. Each has a different topping……some type of slaw, just lettuce with salsa, guacamole, pico de gallo, etc. Seems like there’s really no “rules”….just what you think you would like to wrap in a flour tortilla.

  10. That looks really tasty! I have to admit I eat a lot of shrimp! I tend to buy it in bulk and make dinner out of what is an appetizer typically.

  11. Wow … Look really good!!!

  12. I was down in Rockport this week and picked up some fresh shrimp, then made this recipe when we got home! I didn’t have any Italian dressing mix so I just sprinkled some Tony Chachere’s seasoning on it and it was great! We loved it! You are right about the texture turning out perfect without babysitting.

Leave a Reply

