A “Friday Finish”…on Wednesday!…….

I so love the sound of that!!! Backtracking a bit to the post here,, will bring you up to speed on this one. When I purchased this, last September in Kingsport, Tennessee, I just knew it would be a great fmq project!!!! I brought the unfinished cloth to Texas but forgot to bring the binding fabric, so a trek to the local Hobby Lobby produced just the perfect piece!!!!!IMG_7906    Gingham!!! Yes!!!!! And one with a bit of ‘poly’ in it…..how retro is that!!! The minimal shrinkage of that fabric will be ideal for this much-washed cloth. IMG_7906 IMG_7907

A peek at the back…….IMG_7904   It’s a piece of wide backing I had gotten from Connecting Threads and has a ribbon motif subtly running through it. IMG_7909     And a final ‘full shot’……..IMG_7908    “Clicking” on any of the photos will enlarge.

Thread: (top and bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly (70wt). Batting: Hobbs Heirloom cotton/poly (80/20).

The outer border was fun and a great way to keep the stiffness away (no tight stippling, etc) and allow for a nice over-the-table-edge drape.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A “Friday Finish”…on Wednesday!…….

  1. witchylin says:

    You have quite a collection of vintage cloths now. You have sure found a use for old cloths that could otherwise be sent to the rag collection.

  2. Emily says:

    It is going to be gorgeous on your table. I love those old tablecloths they had in the ’50’s and ’60’s. The binding really sets it off.

  3. Mary Nelson says:

    I found a Nordic theme cloth with hearts and gnomes on it. Traditional colors of blue red and yellow on a white ground. I can’t wait to do something to it and give it to my mom with puts up a S
    candinavian tabletop Christmas tree (wooden arms with woven wheat ornaments). You are my inspiration!

  4. KerryCan says:

    Congratulations–it’s amazing!

  5. Mary says:

    Beautiful workmanship. Love the quilting and the binding choice!

  6. I have quite the collection of vintage tablecloths and love using them whenever we have guests. Most I’ve found at garage sales.

  7. kathyreeves says:

    The gingham is perfect! I love that it is back in style and so available again. A very happy fabric, that adds a bit of joy to any project, including this one. 🙂

  8. Sharon - IN says:

    This piece turned out so lovely! I have some vintage tablecloths, if I ever get comfortable in FMQ I’ll have to remember this and give it a try. Thanks for sending me a FB message back in August. Sorry that I am now just looking at your blog.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The only way to get really comfortable with fmq is to set up the regular 15 min. per day (or some such routine) and actually begin, along with regular doodling. In the workshops I’ve led, an often asked question, when fmq, is “where do I go next?”. That will come after time spent doing it. If you have some type of connection with those cloths, check out thrift shops and pick one up and start! It’s a “whole cloth”…..no seams to bump into….and the printed design is perfect for echo stitching practice!!!!! I’ll be starting several more of these cloths in the next week, or so. So glad you were able to visit. Please, stop by again!!!!!

Leave a Reply

