“Twist & Shout” a bit longer…………..

My Thursday workshop resulted in this demo top……..IMG_7968    and if I didn’t get right to the quilting (a “next project” is lurking!!!!!!!), it would get shelved…………oh no!!!!!! So, last Friday I managed to pin baste it (crawling on the floor to do it!!! Way-ay-ay too old to that very often!!!)……IMG_8010    and then some trial designs that resulted in this choice……IMG_8042      Yup, “feathered swirls”, first done on a red & white quilt shown in this post. Once again, I’m happily stitching on my Ms (Texas) Juki, using my absolute FAVE thread, GLIDE, on the top and Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly on the bobbin. Perfection!!!!!! IMG_8043IMG_8044IMG_8045IMG_8046    Even the irregular thickness I’m stitching on (all of the solid squares are flannel, the prints are cotton) had little effect on how beautifully the quilting progressed! If all goes as it has, tomorrow may see a completion………to be continued……….

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by for a visit!!!! Please, do come again!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “Twist & Shout” a bit longer…………..

  1. Lisa Simon says:

    I also have a Juki that I love for FMQ. What foot are you using here?

  2. kathyreeves says:

    Doreen, I love that pattern. So are you free handing that all over the quilt? I’m guessing yes, knowing you, but do you divide the space up or just go for it?

    • treadlemusic says:

      I begin in the middle with a feather/spiral and have worked outwards in a ever-widening clock-wise, or counter clock-wise circular pattern. I usually work in quadrants, beginning in the center and working outward in 1/4 of the quilt (not quite to the outer edge), then work back to the center and outward, again, in the next 1/4 section, continuing until I’ve done the perimeter/outer border. Let me know if that isn’t clear and I’ll do a post.

  3. Jeanne says:

    The motif is gorgeous – is that an original? I’m envious – I’m not sure I could pin a quilt on the floor anymore :). Guess it’s time to find some Glide thread – I’ve never seen it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Glide is handled in a few quilt shops (getting to be more). It’s by Superior and has just come out in a 60 wt. I’m using a 40 wt, which is perfect for this cuz there’s no/very little travelling over previous stitching. Thread build-up can be a tad much.
      Yes, I guess I would say the design is something I’ve come up with to mimic a long-arm machine. It’s easy to stitch on a larger scale when less dense stitching is desired. Thanks for the great comment!!!!!!……

  4. Vicki in MN says:

    The perfect quilting choice for this!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s really coming along as I had hoped….staying very soft. I very much appreciate your stopping by and taking the moments to leave a comment!!! Have an awesome day!!!!!

  5. This is turning out beautifully. I love the transition from light to dark in the quilt design.

  6. Corry Tarbox says:

    Hey Doreen, very nice work! Love it!

  7. Laura says:

    Are your “feathered swirls” similar to the “galaxy feather” that Karen from Red Bird Quilt did? It looks like you eliminated the backtrack which would make it easier. I really like the motif!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ll do a post later today to more clearly define the motif’s stitch path but, you’re right, no back=tracking and the plumes are stitched individually starting at the bottom/underside of the plume, going out and around (coming back on the “top” of the plume). The ‘key’/unifying stitching is the echo that ties the plumes into one unit. It would be easier to see in a diagram, I think……..later……………..

Leave a Reply

