A question was asked………

Regarding the free motion foot that was pictured in my last post. Quite honestly, I don’t remember where (online) I purchased it, but it is a generic high shank fmq foot that seems to be working quite well. Please note: it is just for fmq/free motion quilting and NOT for any type of ruler work. IMG_8050 It was a hopping foot until I modified it ever so slightly by adding that white plastic tubing spacer……..

image There’s a bit of an adjustment that sometimes needs to be made if the spacer keeps the foot above the fabric too far, which allow the fabric to “pop up” after the stitch is made and usually results in skipped stitches. Just skimming the fabric surface (for me) is a bit easier on my eyes (and ears!) than having the constant hopping up and down and the additional mechanical sounds that may occur with the foot’s movement up/down. I know……I’m fussy…..but I usually quilt for many hours at a time and these extra “noises” become a tad tiring….just sayin’.

Anyhow, here is just one of the links I found for this foot. I’m sure there are other locations and the price seems to be the same wherever!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A question was asked………

  1. Karen Goad says:

    when I got my Juki I had two of these feet that came with the machine of slightly different sizes – is the foot you show different from them – I must admit I have barely looked at them.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes…..this is an after market foot. The feet that come with the machine I’ve modified for ruler work and to make them non-hopping (drives me crazy to have that hopping!!!! LOL!!!!!) Today’s post will further answer your question……..hugs…..

Leave a Reply

