My Texas “nest”…………

Is one small corner of our 399 sq. ft. little winter place. The reason for this post is that I’ve had comments about quilting a larger piece in very small quarters. Yes! It definitely is possible. I ordered a small table from Walmart that has adjustable height legs. The table is 24”x 46” and I have the height at its lowest (24”) so that the level of the machine stitching area is proper and I’m not reaching/stitching with my shoulders raised to my ears!!! IMG_8053IMG_8052IMG_8054    When quilting, your elbows should be bent at a 90 degree angle so that there is minimum shoulder/back strain. The quilt I’m stitching on has finished at 64”x 76” and was extremely manageable  even in this restricted space. I have done larger quite nicely! So, if you are in a “space challenged” situation, think ‘outside the box’ and see how you can make it work for you!!! We are a creative lot and this is just one more challenge!!!! Now……back to stitching………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Texas “nest”…………

  1. Darlene says:

    Love that table! Very helpful to see your quilty corner:)

    • treadlemusic says:

      When it comes to ‘carving’ out a quilty corner, I approach it as a challenge that I will NOT allow to beat me!!!!!! LOL!!!!!! Thanks so much for stopping by!!! Hugs…….

  2. witchylin says:

    I love your “nest”. It is just perfect. You would laugh at the number of cushions I sit on when quilting because our farmhouse kitchen table height can’t be altered. Might have a look at a similar style table from our Walmart type shop. Then I could move it about for the best light as well as height. Thanks for giving me something to think about.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m so happy that you are able to think of some possible ‘nest’ alterations of your own!!! The table height was dictated by the only chair that worked in that corner and the height from the floor to the surface of the machine’s extension table that would allow proper posture for me. I wish you success in your “hunt”!!!! Hugs comin’ across the pond to you…………

  3. Great idea! As you know, we are “tight” in our living space, too. I am uncomfortable sitting at the kitchen table using my sewing machine. I think I “need” one of these tables! Hope you are having a great winter!

  4. kathyreeves says:

    I am going to measure my sewing table I am certain it is too high. I think 8 can solve it with a bench to sit on that is the proper height. Thanks for the tip!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Just an additional note……if you choose a chair that can be raised to the proper height, you will have to place a riser/box under your power pedal to bring that up to a correct height. I have that done for my Sweet 16 and when I use the Juki on a higher table.

  5. mtetar says:

    It is a workable nest and looks great. I now use a folding table the double/Large size. I would rather a dinning chair instead of a folding chair for my back rest. Enjoy your day, Mtetar

  6. gijane279-Liz says:

    I love the Hint about the table I work in the safety field and we’re always teaching ergonomics and I love that you brought up the proper positioning while stitching thanks for sharing that hints 😍

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is so important and I really am surprised at so many that try to perform tasks in totally inappropriate postures/conditions (and then wonder why their neck/back/legs/arms give them so much pain/fatigue!!). Thanks so much for your feed-back……it’s very much appreciated!!!!! Uber hugs…….

Leave a Reply

