The Answer……………….

Maybe some of you didn’t even know the question, so, to bring you “up to speed”………..first the photos………IMG_8096 - CopyIMG_8096 What is the name of this little item and what is its use???

Ready????

It’s a “Thimble Pip” and the use, well, it’s fairly plain…to corral those little thimbles (or other small items) that have a tendency to get lost amongst our hand sewing notions. The tutorial I’m linking to, is from the blog “Super Mom-No Cape”. Thimble Pip Tutorial - Make a Pretty Home for Your Thimbles   The pip that was shared at our gathering used plastic cut from a milk jug and it really seemed to be the perfect weight for this!

Now……let’s see how many uses you can think of for these clever little pouches/clamshells…………..

My week ahead is really packed with fun, so posts/visits may be a tad sporadic!!!!! I’ll see what happens!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Answer……………….

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Well those are adorable! I can think of a lot of uses for them that aren’t even sewing related. EarPod holders comes to mind !

    • treadlemusic says:

      YES, now that you say that (an “out of the box/pouch” idea), I can think of other ideas, too!!! Any item that would have a tendency to get misplaced would be a great candidate!!!

  2. I’d stash my lipsalve in it, as a cute little dangly thing on my handbag. Very interesting write up

  3. Oh, for cute. With a kid print, these could be used to hold lost teeth for the Tooth Fairy.

  4. Dora Scheer says:

    Back in the 1950s the bank in Gridley, IL (and, undoubtedly, many others) handed these out, made only of plastic, as coin/change pouches, and years, maybe decades earlier, they were made of leather. The one I made at a meeting of my little quilt in Arizona over twenty years ago has held a thimble and a chunk of beeswax the entire time. I’ll keep reading to see how others suggest they can be used.

    • treadlemusic says:

      So far….the most ingenious (to me!) has been the “Tooth Fairy” idea!!!! LOL!!! Now that you remind me, I do remember those coin purses that you squeezed to open!!! My dad and FIL had them!

  5. Thread crazy says:

    When I hand stitch the binding down, I often use the thread from a bobbin that matches the binding. I can see one of these little gems holding that bobbin, along with a needle. Great idea.

Leave a Reply

