April is sliding by……………….

Or is it “racing”?? Hmmm…… Since I’m not at my Minnesota home (where this little wall quilt ‘lives’), I’m pulling from the project photo archives with this one. 009   Just sandwiched, this fusible top is loaded with wildly fun techniques. To continue the journey……006  This packet of patterns contains a ton of seasonal patterns and ideas…..well worth a purchase! 016    After stitching around each of the appliques, there just HAD to be rain!!!! Easily accomplished with some very free-hand fmq! Quite effective, don’t’cha think???? Then the umbrella needed definition/ribs. Couching with perle cotton gave the perfect result…..013011   The #10 (edge-stitch foot) worked very well on the Bernina 440.017    The border was a SID (stitch in the ditch) and stitch around the appliques project. And the finish…………015    Since there were such a variety of fabric colors used, I quilted this using Fil-Tec “Essence” monofilament, which has a lesser “shine” factor. I think, when I get home, I may stitch some rain drops in the border. We’ll see………stay tuned………. This drippy wall quilt is appropriate for our current Texas day, as we are having some very minor sprinkles to begin the morning. Til next time………now, let’s go have some stitchin’ fun………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to April is sliding by……………….

  1. Karen Goad says:

    wow still in Texas – I thought you would be back to Minnesota by now, it must be getting hot way down in south Texas

  2. Janis Baethke says:

    Just too cute! 🙂

  3. kathyreeves says:

    I really like that rain effect.😊

  4. mtetar says:

    April’s Showers bring Mary’s Flowers. Very Nice Project. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  5. witchylin says:

    I love the rain it looks so real. It is amazing how simple stitches can bring a picture to life.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I completely agree! I have a tendency to over-think my designs and end up going from complex to simple (with much time spent in between!). ‘Explore all the options’ is my approach.

  6. This is so fitting for the season. Gloomy here in Minnesota too with rain expected.

Leave a Reply

