Friday Finishes………..

First……a client quilt out the door. IMG_8747   I presented a quick glimpse of this one in this post. Because it was hand pieced, a paisley stitching motif worked best to ease in the areas of fullness that presented themselves. I used Connecting Threads Essential Pro polyester (70wt) thread in “Natural” color. It’s fine weight and matte finish would allow it to ‘melt’ into the quilt nicely.

Next up is a wall quilt, put together by friend, Barb. Really gorgeous, but multiple layering of fusible-backed pieces had led to some machine stitching issues (she has a Juki 98, great machine BTW) like skipped stitches. I showed some photos of this in the above link, also. Here’s some side by side photos (before/after) of the stitching I was able to add………

IMG_8739 IMG_8765Not exactly the same flower, but you get the idea. More definition and, definitely, more texture! IMG_8740IMG_8764 IMG_8766   I used a green and a deep purple Isacord thread for this detail work.

And, finally, “Galactic Explosion”=a finish!!!! IMG_8749IMG_8752IMG_8754 IMG_8755IMG_8757IMG_8758IMG_8759

OK…..no more……..This one will be out the door tomorrow, when I attend my long-arm group’s meeting. Hopefully, I’ll get some pics of their challenge entries!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Friday Finishes………..

  1. Do you ever sleep?

    As always, your art impresses me.

  2. Jan says:

    I was just hoping to see some of the other ones of this challenge. Yours is absolutely stunning….. what else did I expect!

  3. Celia says:

    Thank you for sharing photos of your quilting! This last one is just over the top gorgeous!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I am making a wall hanger and would love someone with a long arm machine to quilt it for me. Jenschmidt48@gmail.com

  5. witchylin says:

    I love the finished quilting on Galactic Explosion. It looks fabulous.

  6. Kathleen Saladino says:

    Loved the radiating technique! Your artistic ability amazes me every time you send something out!! What a gift God has given you. While I have lots of talents, this one I don’t have; makes me especially happy for what you can do!!! Your classmate, Kathy

    • treadlemusic says:

      The machine, thread, fabric, etc, are my brushes, paints and canvas. It has taken many years to figure out my creative “niche” expression. I remember all those art classes at AMM and how they didn’t “click” with me! Yes……we are each uniquely made by a loving Creator!!! Thank you so much for your sweet comment!!!! Uber hugs comin’ at ya from a very chilly, wet/rainy MN farmlet…………..

  7. KerryCan says:

    I often think machine quilting is a bit over the top and that it can take away from the quilt pattern but, in this case, the quilting absolutely makes the quilt. Fantastic!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s really so “cool” when what’s in one’s head….the “vision”…..actually becomes the reality…successfully, I might add!! LOL!!! I’m glad you enjoyed seeing it. Hugs………

  8. Beth Ann says:

    Galactic Explosion is da bomb. 🙂

  9. Vicki in MN says:

    I knew you’d get it done in time! Turned out super awesome of course. As you know I didn’t make it to the meeting, babysitting a 4 yr old for 30 hrs kinda took it’s toll on me, LOL. But glad I could help out.

  10. kathyreeves says:

    You keep a Jeffersonian schedule ma’am, no wonder you get so much accomplished. I really love the simplicity of quilt #1, and the added texture on #2 is a greats example of how to add just enough. Galactic Explosion really turned out superbly, I am looking forward to seeing what the others did!

  11. D > Galactic Explosion is AWESOME!!!!

Leave a Reply

