Taming the “poof” or Why did I choose this……….

Batting!!!!! Ok…..to backtrack a tad. The project in question is one that’s been around for a while ….ummmm….yeah…….like November of 2015 is the beginning of the “birthing”…ha! Please, go to this post if you want the “rest of the story”.IMG_6103That is when the pattern/material was given to my larger quilt group. May, of 2016, is when I got the majority of signed blocks back……IMG_6058 Fast forward to our meeting last week and the request for all the finished friendship quilts that were done this past year……really? Ok….Let’s grab some stash fabric for backing and raid the batting bin……Found both..IMG_8797 I will draw your attention to the batting package and the fact that, not only is it not Hobbs brand, it’s 100% poly extra loft!!!!! It really didn’t look that bad coming out of the package but, at some point, it exploded and, yes, it definitely is lofty…poofy…..fluffy…..etc.Well, first, I have to square each block and get them sewn together!!!!!IMG_8798   How to quilt it???? “Feather Swirl” was my solution and the photos give evidence………………First the back……not bad! No pleats or puckers!!!! . IMG_8802     And the “marshmallowy” finish…..the motifs are stitched large (the blocks measure 11” finished) so the quilt would still have some type of softness when done. Success. IMG_8804   I ever so briefly considered adding a border but quickly eliminated that…..no more of the green, other than enough for binding. Binding!!! That’s it!!! A “faux flange” binding….perfect (and just enough of the green!!!). I wanted a bit wider binding strip to accommodate the additional quilt thickness, so I went with a generous 2 & 1/2 inch width. This meant cutting 2 strips (each one the length needed)…flange fabric: 1&7/8 inches…..binding (green): 1&1/4 inches.IMG_8805  Stitch the 2 lengths together and press the seam open….. IMG_8806 

fold in half (matching raw edges)……..IMG_8807   The binding will be stitched to the back of the quilt and flipped to the front, stitching in the ditch between the dot fabric and green. IMG_8808 This gives a nice clean finish to both the front and back…….IMG_8812 IMG_8810   And, now, the label and it’s a finish!!!!!!

 IMG_8813 

 Thread: (top) Glide; (bobbin)Thread: (top) Glide; (bobbin)poly, 70 wt. Batting: Fairfield Extra Loft poly.

If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in a comment! On to the next (little) project…….hint….it involves “feathers”….just a few!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Taming the “poof” or Why did I choose this……….

  1. Bella Grace says:

    Blessed are the piece makers [peacemakers] for they shall be called the children of God.

    The joy you have doing this is of the Lord. It’s a blessing to witness this.

  2. Teje says:

    Hi dear friend! This became gorgeus quilt! Your fantastic quilting mix magically the ‘square’ pattern and gives a feeling of flower field! Binding looks so perfect! Did you really make it with 2.5″ strip? I use that size but I couldn’t have enough to make that extra ‘strip’ that is on the right side of the quilt. Have to try this with a mini quilt first. Hugs from busy Crete! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did add an 1/8 (generous) of an inch so the final was closer to 2&3/4 inches. That was because of that fluffy batt!!!!!!! The “feather swirl” seems to go so well on many quilts!!! It, also, tames quilts that have uneven/wavy tops (from having the bias stretched a tad when constructing, possibly). The many changes in direction when stitching really eases in a lot of unwanted fullness! Sending hugs and smiles your way…………….

  3. Great work! Simple blocks turned into magic!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s always daunting when so many different people/gals make the blocks (for a “friendship” quilt). Sometimes a bit scary! Squaring each block took care of the wonkiness. This block pattern was chosen for the very reason that any trimming would not goof up ‘points’, etc. Thanks so much for popping by!!!! Hugs………….

      • I am working on a bee quilt too. Not all the blocks are created equal as they would say… 🙂 I am making it work by adding sashings that I can alter in width a bit without it being noticeable. So far it is working great. I do hope that the many border don’t create too much fulness that I can quilt out. There is a slight ripple at the last border… and I have measured everything really carefully. I think I will try to starch them some more before adding the last border.

  4. Jeanne says:

    Gorgeous quilt and quilting! I’ve never made a faux flange binding – thanks for the idea and the instructions. It is similar to the way I do a two color binding.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes……a 2 color binding is the same idea…just shift the proportions of the 2 colors: more fabric for the “flange”, less for the “binding”+ additional allowance for that extra seam. Generally, the flange is about 1/4”. If it’s more than that it doesn’t seem to wash very well (flips up too easily).

  5. kathyreeves says:

    That poofiness looks so cozy, even if its not the easiest to quilt, and I love the flange, it really adds to the finish!

  6. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    My husband prefers extra loft–the poofier the better.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Well, it is totally not “my thing”!. The traditional look …..my fave is the Hobbs 80/20…..fits my ideas. I am curious as to how this one will wash up. The other thing is I am surprised how heavy it is! The ‘finish’ is 70″x 80″. I guess that’s why there are so many different types of everything out there….we’re all different!!!! LOL!!!!

  7. Fiona says:

    it’s gorgeous… the other day friends were talking about using that very puffy wadding and I thought I wouldn’t be able to in the S16 since it’s hard to see where it’s going…. you have done a marvellous job and proved me wrong!

    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      A couple things learned: make sure the backing and batting is definitely larger than the top!!!! As I quilted, the top flattens out and really presses outwards. The other thing is…..pin well!! I did and had absolutely no problem with puckers/creases on the back or top….none whatsoever!!!!! It stitched perfectly…..you should have no problem at all!!!!!!

  8. mtetar says:

    Your craftsmanship is always amazing. Blessings always, Mtetar

  9. Robin says:

    This turned out gorgeous!!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much. It was a learning experience….now I really am convinced that the poly/cotton (80/20) is wonderful batting and, if I need more “poof”, I’ll layer something on top! Thanks for stopping by! Hugs…….

Leave a Reply

