A Friday Finish!!!!……………….

I referenced further table toppers ‘in the works’ in my last post. I had quilted a couple of Christmas/winter themed toppers for my church and had heard that, maybe, some more summery themed little quilts would be nice. So, digging through my stash, I came up with 10 fat quarters (3 fabric designs) that would work well together. I really like the ‘hexie’ shape, so, made myself a 17.5” paper pattern (going for a large solid center!) and got busy cutting. Red (borders) was my color choice,.IMG_8831 And the first “trial” top…….IMG_8829 Yup, looks like it will work….onward……….IMG_8830  In one day(!), I was able to complete all 10 to the ‘needing-the-binding’ stage. The only road-block was I had no more of the red!!! Really??? A Moda “Solid” purchased at least a year ago. Surely, I should be able to secure a bit more, hmmmmm???? A trek to LaCrosse, and River Road Quilt Shop had the perfect piece….Moda “Crackle” in the needed ‘Country Red’…yay! Then, I thought that a red border with a red binding would be a tad boring so, enter a piece of Jo Morton’s repro print (again, from my stash!!!!)  for a faux piping (see here).IMG_8833 All, combined with a wonderful floral (stash fabric!!!) making them reversible!!IMG_8836 As you can see in the above photo, I did some ruler work/straight stitching to secure the layers. Yields my “Friday Finish”!!!! All 10 of them……………IMG_8834   They finished at 22” (point to point, across the middle), with the center solid piece @ 17” (same point to point measurement).

Thread: (top) Glide,40wt (bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly,70wt. Batting: Hobbs Heirloom cotton/poly (80/20).

Hmmmmm…….I wonder what’s next….one of several fab client projects that have been patiently(?) waiting for attention…..and they’re “vintage”!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IMG_8827   There are 3 of these beauties….and I do have an idea…..oh, yes! Stay tuned…….

Have an awesome weekend…it’s graduation weekend here….how ‘bout where you are????

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Friday Finish!!!!……………….

  1. kathyreeves says:

    Graduated all the HS kids last weekend, but our big one is June 18!!

  2. Busy busy busy you are. Graduation is next weekend in Faribault. But we have a party to attend in Owatonna on Sunday.

  3. witchylin says:

    What speedy quilter you are. I think those table toppers look fabulous. I do like the faux piping. Graduations are in a couple of weeks over here, however I don’t know anyone who is graduating. Not having children there are no further generations to graduate for us. Once I die there is no one left from my family. It is awesome to be the last one. Gary at least has nieces and a great nephew.

  4. Debbierose says:

    Hexes are s favorite of mine. Well done Doreen

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you, my friend. I see so many other possibilities for this quick topper pattern. Great hostess/’special day’ gift ideas!!!! Onward to my stash…………………………

Leave a Reply

