Quilters are…………….

Never at a loss for projects, or is it just me???? Now, I had every intention of buying zero fabric this morning when a couple quilt ‘buds’ and I took off for the Calico Hutch Quilt Shop in Hayward, Minnesota. I’ve already stated my stash overflows ridiculously but,…..well…..you see, it was 25% off everything in the shop (minus machines and such)!! Really? OK, surely some little item(s) wouldn’t hurt! So…these little pieces just hopped into my cute little basket and made their way home with me….IMG_8975  I mean, one can always use another set of pillowcases….and this fabric went so perfectly with my summer quilt……IMG_8976   Truly, a very quick project…..for this evening.

And, as for the current vintage stitching started here, I have come this far (in spite of a ton of interruptions/side-trackings)…….IMG_8973    I’ve been asked how I come up with ideas for something like this and my response is usually that I listen to the little item that’s before me. This held true in this case, also……IMG_8974   I will continue with the flower/leaf theme in some fashion yet to be determined! Stay tuned…………….

Thread: top and bobbin: Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt. Batting: Hobbs Heirloom, cotton/poly,80/20.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Quilters are…………….

  1. Kathy Morton says:

    I’ve used that excuse!! But at least you do something quickly. I dream a lot!! 🌤☀️

  2. Judy says:

    I know what you mean about buying a little more fabric especially when there is a sale. Your very cheerful and I enjoy reading your posts.

  3. witchylin says:

    Now why does it not surprise me that you just HAD to buy fabric? Well who could resist 25% off, certainly not me. If I live to be 110 I’ll never use all my stash but I will have fun trying. Unfortunately this weekend I am away at a camp in our caravan but without electricity so can’t get on with a quilt that needs to be done. It is a wedding gift and I don’t have very long. From Wednesday I will be at the lighthouse in Spurn Point for 5 days, once again no possibility of sewing. I feel withdrawal symptoms coming on.YEAKS!!!!!! Have a great quilty weekend. 🙂

  4. Kathleen Saladino says:

    If I live to be 100, I don’t know if I’ll ever get through my stash!! You’re normal, Doreen!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! I’ll have to share your statement with DH….”normal” is not usually a word applied to yours truly!! So awesome that you popped by!!!! Hope you’ve had some wonderful stitching days!!!! Hugs………..

  5. Vicki in MN says:

    You are not alone in having a big stash. I went to the MN quilt show saying ‘don’t buy more fabric’ and guess what I bought!! Love your quilt design on the petals!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You were so fortunate to get to that show. It seems that if the show isn’t in Rochester I’m just too busy to attend…..oh well, 2019 is the year it comes back this direction (I think). I had better get stitching/stash busting cuz I just know there will be serious buying there!!! I feel that summer is already way too far along…Yikes!!!!!

  6. Jeanne says:

    Ahhh, the best intentions! We all understand that when you see the perfect fabric, especially on sale, you HAVE to buy it! I think you restrained yourself very well!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Welllllllllll, THIS week/time I think I did,,,,,but last week/time….not so much (I haven’t posted those “damages”!!!!!!…..sigh………)……………

  7. I seriously doubt you can visit a quilt shop without buying something…

    • treadlemusic says:

      sigh……………….I think you are very correct. It’s a sickness…….”Hello….my name is Doreen and I have a……………………………….” LOL LOL LOL

  8. Bella Grace says:

    You encourage me with your stitching to keep teaching the word of God. Everyday, I see a post and I just smile like wow, she keeps going. Never any sign of worry or distractions. Your stitching is deeper than a quilt. It shows how God has stitched you together and you are not busting at the seams. Beautiful creations…including you. Keep being a light and a blessing. I love you. Off to be a teacher and prepare my lesson.

Leave a Reply

