A “Friendship Block” request………

At last Monday’s guild meeting, one of the items on the ‘agenda’ was the next “Friendship Block” quilt person….and that was Julie. You may (probably not!) remember that I put mine together at the end of last month…….mainly cuz it’s been languishing, in separate blocks, for a long time (see here, which will give a more complete explanation of a “Friendship Quilt”). Julie brought her block………..IMG_8992    handed out directions and a muslin ‘base’ block which we each were to “string” piece (from our stash) and sign/embellish the center (lighter) strip in a way that reflects our own personal creativity/personality. OK, the “gauntlet” is thrown and, after a while in the studio (pulling out totes and miscellaneous containers!!!), I have this………IMG_9009   There’s another photo following that supports my thought that my stash definitely reflects a certain color palette!!!! IMG_9010   I pinned the block to the quilts displayed currently in my livingroom on a quilt ladder. Ummmmm……see one or two similarities between the quilts and the fabrics chosen for the block??? (especially the photo above!) Interesting. Anyhow, I’ve yet to “sign” the block but I just had to get a little vintage in there somehow! Now……on to my name, maybe a feather, or two, or………… Oh yes….did I mention that Julie was quite clear that merely writing our names was not acceptable! It must be done in thread (embroidery—hand or machine)!!!! Tomorrow’s project……stay tuned………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A “Friendship Block” request………

  1. Raewyn says:

    Looks like you are having fun with this wee challenge!

  2. kathyreeves says:

    I’m laughing about your color palette! My horizons broadened with the left overs of the wedding quilts, since I used the bride’s favorites. I love the new colors but haven’t a clue how I can use them in MY house! I take them out and pet them…😂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hehehe……I look at all the bags of recently purchased fabrics and…..they all mesh together!! Interesting! I agree with those ‘leftovers’ from quilts that are gifts. I have many(!) pieces left from charity/Ronald McDonald House quilts (and others) that definitely aren’t remotely close to my “palette”!

Leave a Reply

