Friendship block…..a little finish……

I really like little projects that can be finished with lots of details in a small amount of time…..how ‘bout you?? This one began here and, with some bits and pieces of fabric and vintage linen,IMG_9016

 

 

that was snipped here and there to become a cute little triangle……

and a few pearls, left from my wedding gown days, we have this sweet little 10” string pieced block that definitely reflects who I am, and where I am, in my stitching journey…….IMG_9012   I slipped a piece of batting under the linen so as to give my feathers(!!!!) a bit of lift and help stabilize the machine embroidered name………IMG_9014    It is readily apparent that I free-handed the embroidery but it was fun. Firing up my trusty Bernina 440 QE, I used the open toe fmq foot, dropped the feed dogs, set the zig-zag at about 2 and stitched. Worked pretty well…….and the name is in thread as was requested by Julie!. A few feathers just had to appear and a few pearls add the needed ‘spark’.

Another weekend is upon us. Tomorrow is a quilt show put on by my Spring Grove group and I’ll be “working” there later in the afternoon. Photos soon! Thanks so much for visiting!!!!IMG_9015

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friendship block…..a little finish……

  1. kathyreeves says:

    That block is very YOU!

  2. Rosemaryflower says:

    this is adorable. Just so sweet. Well done

  3. JoAnn says:

    Wow!!! Going to be tough to figure my block out. May have to practice the name on my 440.

  4. “I free-handed the embroidery…” you make it sound so simple.

  5. Julie says:

    Nice block!!! That is what I am talking about personalization!!! You rocked it!!

  6. witchylin says:

    It is certainly you Doreen. Looks great.

Leave a Reply

