Another Friday finish……….

I know it’s Saturday, but the day was too spent to share this one when I finished it…….and even got it blocked! As I shared in this post, there were some condition issues that required some ‘surgery’ resulting in a tablecloth that is now a table runner. IMG_9092   As you can see, there is mega texture on this one! The edge finishing was done in the same manner as the previous project (see here). I began with cutting away the batting so that it was even with the lovely crochet edge, making sure that I did not fmq right to that edge so that I would be able to fold the backing under……….IMG_9076   Next, I marked the backing a 1/4” out from the edge….. IMG_9078   I love the Sewline pencil for this type of marking. Its fine point allows for great accuracy. IMG_9080    It’s somewhat difficult to see, but I folded the trimmed backing over the batting so that its edge was at the edge of the linen/back from the blue edging.IMG_9082   Above photo is from the back. I secure the top to this edge with the Sewline glue stick pen……….IMG_9083 and advanced to my Juki to stitch the layers together so that I could finish the fmq.IMG_9085    Back to the Sweet 16 to finish the fmq and the topper…………….IMG_9095IMG_9096IMG_9101   Care for some tea???? IMG_9099 Please, come join me……………………..IMG_9097

Thread: (top & bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70wt. Batting: Hobbs Heirloom cotton/poly, 80/20

This has been an awesomely happy (comical) piece to “work’ on. The embroidery is in perfect condition and its humor really did give me the giggles. Hmmmmm……..so much more to come….so, please, come back. More vintage stitching ahead!!!!!!

Note: for further detail, click on photo.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Friday finish……….

  1. Suzy Webster says:

    I love how you finished the edge! Smart.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ve done it this way twice and it turns out so nicely finished without needing to add anything to the piece itself. Thanks for popping by!!! Hugs……

  2. StaceyHolley says:

    This table runner is so incredible! I looked back through some of your earlier posts, too, and I just love what you’ve done with those vintage cloths. Makes me want to go shopping for vintage! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      The vintage pieces have definitely taken me to a place that I love. The reason I started taking client quilts was so I could do fmq without piecing something!!! Whole cloth/vintage allows for total fmq creativity. 💞

  3. KerryCan says:

    It’s so cool how the McTavishing swirls look like steam coming off the tea cup–very clever!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You got it!!! Precisely!!!! That was exactly the intent…….although, I use this technique frequenty for backfill, there are these situations where it’s a MUST!!!!!!! LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

