Design wall Monday…..and a diversion…..

That comes in two sizes. Nope…no quilts but they are quilting fabric, or fabric that was (at one time) destined for quilty-ness……….IMG_9112IMG_9111     Actually, that cute print was thought to be going towards a great grand’s quilt but summer birthdays are upon us and the little girls needed something summery…like from this pattern…..

Simplicity Pattern 8102 Child's Easy-to-Sew Sundress and Kitty ToteNow, I would like to state 2 things: 1) I very much dislike general shopping (fabric excluded, of course) and 2) it’s been eons since I’ve done any garment sewing. Patterns have changed…at least this one is different! Where did the 5/8” seam allowance go?? And when did the pattern directions (yes…I was actually reading them!!!!) and tissue pieces not give necessary info?? Well, they are done……fabric all from my stash and I didn’t need to leave the house (except for the mad dash to Jo Ann Fabrics yesterday after church for the pattern!)……IMG_9110   Now, to get on to my marathon week………. back to quilty-ness soon…….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Design wall Monday…..and a diversion…..

  1. witchylin says:

    The dresses are cute. Bet they look lovely on.

  2. Mary Nelson says:

    They don’t use 5/8″ seams? What is the seam allowance then? I went to tour Spoonflower in NC this summer and they have a service where you can design a fabric or choose from thousands of prints, choose a pattern and they print the pattern pieces right on the fabric they print at their facility. It was a very cool tour. And they have an awesome website. Check it out.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Parts of the pattern are seamed with 3/8″ and others it’s 1/2″!!!!!! And some directions just say “stitch the 2 pieces together” and there’s no mention of s.a. In the past, in the general directions, it’s stated (in the past) that the seam allowance is 5/8″ unless specified otherwise. It was so poorly written, I think I will contact the company!
      I’ve followed the growth of Spoonflower for quite a while and, now, I’ve noticed how many digitally printed fabrics are available in the shops…..amazing clarity & detail!!! Lucky you to get that tour!!!!

  3. Bella Grace says:

    I like the style and I like the print. I have made 2 things so far for my daughter, she’s 6. Not with the patterns though because I don’t understand them. I bought them cheap and the pictures give me ideas. Thank you for the inspiration!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I will have to say that I was very disappointed with the patterns and felt like I had to guess at what was meant by some of the instructions. I’ve notified the company about this, too. Hopefully a new sewist won’t get discouraged if they try it.

  4. mtetar says:

    I like the Simplicity Patterns from the seventies much easier dirrections and for beginners. McCalls Patterns were great as well. One was able to use a tracing wheel and paper to transfer lines in the fabric. Very Cute dresses would like to try seeing it for my granddaughter. Blessings always, Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      I couldn’t agree more and that’s what I conveyed in an e-mail to the company, a few minutes ago. The patterns of years ago were much better. I sewed a lot for my granddaughter (these little gals’ mom) but more for chilly weather than summer!!

      • mtetar says:

        It is cheaper to sew especially when you get nice and quality fabrics at a good bargain. I usually try the Thrift Stores first for fabrics.

  5. gograndma says:

    I love to buy fabric but can’t sew much – other than the occasional baby blanket! What an cute dress!

  6. Cute cute dresses. Maybe I will have to resume sewing as it was once a passion of mine. But then I read about the unclear and difficult patterns and I wonder if I might be discouraged. Simplicity was always my go-to pattern choice back in the decades of sewing my own clothes and dresses for my grandma.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did send an e-mail to Simplicity Pattern company with a reply. There will be a follow-up post regarding this (I think)………I bought 2 other patterns that day and will be checking the directions/markings on those soon.

  7. Jeanne says:

    Wow – I haven’t bought a pattern for ages. I have a friend who is trying to do some sewing and she texts me many questions. I never thought to ask to see her pattern. Not enough young people are learning to sew – maybe the patterns are one reason. The dresses are adorable!!

  8. kathyreeves says:

    New patterns are not consistent like I remember them. My new Vogue patterns have been good, but the others can be confusing, especially for newbies. Good for you for writing the company with specifics so they can do better.

Leave a Reply

