(Anything but) Wordless Wednesday……..

My week began with a “road trip” with the Spring Grove quilters to, first, Seed Savers Exchange outside Decorah, Iowa. A beautiful sunny day to be out and about.IMG_9140   Above is the visitor center where gardening items and, of course, heirloom seeds (flower & vegi) may be purchased…….IMG_9151     The surrounding gardens are lush with the living specimens………………IMG_9142IMG_9143IMG_9145 IMG_9146     Then it was on to Red-Roxy Quilt Co., in Decorah……..

No automatic alt text available.and lunch at a local Chinese buffet, finishing up with dessert at member Barb’s lovely home. Where are the photos?? Well….ummmm…..moving along (camera remained in the car!!!!!!)……….Meanwhile…..stitching continues…………

Another table topper for the church I attend (the rest of the story is here) and, I think, this is about a wrap for this project…….IMG_9159     I continued the curve/arc stitching on the diamond shapes, different from the previous 2, and it kinda has almost a red “holly” leaf effect. Anyhow, I like it! I used my fave metallic thread (Superior Variegated #025) IMG_9163

I, also, finished up 2 more little(?) projects that go along with my (many) vintage linens that friend/client Beth Ann sent my way. This previous post explains more……I reference an “alteration” in the cute blue/white linen because of some stubborn stains in the center of the cloth, so I cut a strip (18”x45”) out and stitched the remainder together to end up with a nice table runner. The removed strip still had nice blue crochet edgings….IMG_9154 - Copy.    and, today, those “scraps” look like this………….IMG_9155    I fussy-cut and appliqued some cups/teapots from a cute piece of fabric that is the back piece of these old fashioned padded hangers…..IMG_9157     So……… I will close for today. I hope there is a wee nugget of inspiration for you to look at those vintage pieces lurking in shadowed corners of your home and, thinking “outside the box”, give them new life for today! I will say that there is no pattern for the hangers and the shape/size will vary as hangers are all different. My inspiration for these were seen in one of my Fb groups so I really cannot claim complete originality for the idea. I think there are more of these in my future, though!!

What’s going on in your creative life???? Please, share……………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to (Anything but) Wordless Wednesday……..

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Oh my goodness! These are precious! You have really taken these pieces and breathed new life into them. Thank you so much!!!

  2. Judy Nutting says:

    What a picturesque setting! The diamond project for your church is stunning!. Your TX neighbor is, as usual, without words……!

  3. kathyreeves says:

    The padded hangers are wonderful! I have a vintage project going on the moment. 😊 I am cutting up an old damask table cloth and after cutting off the stained and holy bits, have piece of fabric large enough to make dish towels with fabric hangers. I think the damask is so soft that it will be wonderful for drying hand wash glassware.

  4. Vicki in MN says:

    So how is Red Roxy, I have never been there. Is it the old Pine Needles building? How much of todays storm did you get, just a downpour here. I am working my way through more table runners.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oooooooo…..we are getting a “snoot” full….no damage, but the wind & rain w/ lightening IS something else. We are almost to the back side of this one…….Impressive!!!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      There is so much “in the air” in that town!!! Artists of every type abound and permeate its “personality”. I’m sure that Luther College is a prime mover in this!!!!!

  5. J Engineer > Love that hammer-beam roof! I’d love to visit that place.
    D Yarn and Fabric craftsperson > I’d just love to visit Red Roxy Quilt Co!
    J & D > We doubt that even combined we have sufficiently full itinerary to justify a trip to the USA, but we’re prepared to work on that problem. Plenty to see and do!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Keep me posted on that “itinerary”!!! LOL! would love to connect. BTW ……. I love love love the “combo” comment!!! Please, do so again!!! Hello, with hugs, to you both!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

