I’m not a gardener but……….

Somehow, I’ve managed to keep this gift from my daughter-in-law alive for 4 years! It was beautiful in the pot, I received it in, but I’m amazed at it now! IMG_9177      I haven’t done the “miracid” thing and, yet, it has blessed me with these beautiful blooms (which really are more blue than in the photo!). I know the color is shifting to the pinks ‘cuz of the lack of acid soil, so I have begun the necessary feeding/supplementing……..for next year?? LOL! IMG_9180 

Off to stitch on this beautifully cooler Monday morning…………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I’m not a gardener but……….

  1. I love hydrangea. I have massive bushes of white hydrangea flanking my front steps.

    • treadlemusic says:

      We have the white “snowball” bushes but I’ve never been able to grow the beautiful blue hydrangeas. So far, going ok but I know I have to get better at the regular miracid feedings!

  2. Kathy E. says:

    Love those blue blooms! I have 4 bushes of hydrangeas, one is purple. Each late summer, I cut the best ones for drying so I can enjoy them all year long indoors. Some of them are as big as my head! Enjoy those beauties!

  3. witchylin says:

    Just keep caring for it as you have been and it will reward you with lovely blooms for years.

  4. kathyreeves says:

    Lovely! I thought the Sam with the African violets, and now I have one in full bloom and the other with buds!

  5. J > That’s a really good hydrangea! Personally, I like them with a variety of colours: no need to obsess about controlling soil pH.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh no…..no obsession here, but if I don’t do some adjustment the colors will no longer be as varied and I, too, love the varied colors they possess!!!!! Thanks for stopping by!!!! Hugs…….

  6. Vicki in MN says:

    I have a white hydrangea tree, used to have a white bush also-it was dying and in the way so DH finished it off. But I love the mixed colors your is giving you right now!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do also, but I’m afraid that if I don’t do some soil treatment I will be left with pink only and I really like blue! We have white “snowball” bushes and I’ve always loved the blue hydrangeas I would see while travelling down south.

Leave a Reply

