Finishing up UFOs……………

That have been lurking since….well, let’s just say a while! The first one is a little vintage piece I fmq on my Juki while in Texas (in March). You may check this post for details. I knew that the binding fabric was back in Minnesota and I really wasn’t sure how to finish this one, so yesterday I began to add the finishing touches…………….IMG_9190

It needed something more than just a plain binding, so I had a thought that resulted in this little addition.

 

IMG_9191I wasn’t exactly sure how this was going to work but……..

 

 

IMG_9205       The binding was added but it still lacked something………..IMG_9213   Out came some “bling”! And it started to come to life!!!!! IMG_9220IMG_9222         I think I can call this one a “finish”!

Next, another Juki project begun ???. Sorry, can’t resurrect the beginnings of this one (insert very unhappy face!!)…….IMG_9217IMG_9216                           Stitching the binding this afternoon……full reveal soon!!!!

 

 

 

Another vintage piece that will be gifted shortly……..IMG_9181

Notice the fading. This must have been a much loved/used piece! The raised embroidery/French knots were beautifully done. I used my HQ “Glide” foot to stitch around all the motifs and had absolutely no problem with the foot “grabbing” the embroidery……IMG_9184    Details on this one will have to wait til tomorrow. I have rambled long enough and must get to that binding!!! This is just the perfect quilting day…..dreary & rainy and quiet. Til next time, dear friends……………. 

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finishing up UFOs……………

  1. witchylin says:

    The bling really brings the old UFO to life. I would never have thought of adding pearls to quilting. Must put that in the ‘might try that’ pile.

    • treadlemusic says:

      If your “must try” pile is like mine it’s in danger of avalanche!!!!! LOl!! I agree, it was really blah before!!! Thanks so much for your comment! Hugs……………

  2. Thread crazy says:

    I love the first piece…adding the bling was a great idea .

    • treadlemusic says:

      That one was so lacking in pizazz I couldn’t believe it…..not at all how it looked in my head!!!! LOL! Those few pearls add so much (I show another today that’s really helped by such additions)………Hugs……….

Leave a Reply

