Vintage UFOs-Part 2…………..

First up: the sweet little blue & white piece that required the HQ “Glide” foot (previous post). Such embroidery as this……… IMG_9182really can prevent/inhibit close “echo” stitching, I’ve found, and this piece had quite a bit of raised/loopy thread. It was stitched on a very coarsely woven fabric which added to the possibility of snagging a thread, too. On to some photo finishes………..IMG_9185IMG_9186 IMG_9193 A curved grid just seemed to ‘fit’ so well! A photo of the back………IMG_9195

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the “big finish”……..IMG_9207      Thread:(top and bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70wt. Batting: Hobbs Heirloom cotton/poly, 80/20.

Next up, the coral backed vintage piece, again, a peek in yesterday’s post.  IMG_9228

 IMG_9226

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the final……….IMG_9227     Thread: (top & bobbin) Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt, white; Superior Variegated Gold metallic, #025. Batting: Hobbs Heirloom cotton/poly, 80/20.

This weekend is our town’s huge annual event known as “Hoedown”. By Sunday evening, there will have been several thousand more inhabitants than at this moment (normal pop. is 995!). If you are so inclined, I have included a link (above) that will give you the “flavor” of the event. There will be a more personal account sometime on Monday next. Off to get a nap in before the marathon begins……………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Vintage UFOs-Part 2…………..

  1. witchylin says:

    Enjoy your Hoedown Doreen. I will also be involved in a busy weekend. A four day camp, so no sewing for me. 😦

  2. I love them both, but especially the blue and white one. I think if I just saw it as a finished piece, I would have spent a long time trying to figure it out — “Did she leave white space and then embroider, not going through all the layers???” So I am glad you revealed your secrets! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was a piece that was in my mom’s lines and I really don”t remember ever seeing it, but she really didn’t care for a lot of that vintage stuff. Glad I could shed light on the question…LOL!

  3. Suzy Webster says:

    I love what you did on the outside of the coral piece! I’m working on a vintage piece right now….thanks for the inspiration! I didn’t want to just do straight lines 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Straight lines have a place but (to my thinking)I’ve kind of avoided them. Maybe I have to rethink how I could use them with designs like on the coral piece. There’s plenty more vintage pieces waiting in the wings, so…………………..LOL!…………… Look forward to seeing your direction on yours………

  4. Your transformations are always amazing.

    Enjoy the Hoedown. Are you on cooking and/or serving duty?

  5. Fiona says:

    two gorgeous finishes…
    Hugz

  6. Jeanne says:

    Enjoy the Hoedown! I love our town’s annual Fest – so many people come ‘home’ for the weekend. Enjoy!!!

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Enjoy the hoe down, and your beautiful energized linens!😍

  8. Beth Ann says:

    Oh the Hoedown sounds like a wonderful event and a break from the sewing—-that will refresh you.

Leave a Reply

