The Wrong Donations – Some Tough Words on Disaster Relief

My dear bloggy Friends….please, take a few moments to read Angelia’s sweet loving words concerning all that is going on in Eastern Texas at this time. “Help”, even the most well-meaning and prayer-wrapped, needs to be the “what” that’s most needed. Her words serve to alert us all, when responding to the many (and I mean “many”) tragic life events that are currently being experienced throughout the global/human community. Thank you so much for pressing the “pause button” in your “dailies”. Hugs always……Doreen

My Best Laid Plans

I need to make a statement. I want to say it as kindly and gently as possible, but this message really needs to get out there. It’s important. Please hear me with as much grace as you can, because I mean it with all love and gentleness.

My children and I spent hours yesterday sorting the donations that are pouring in. That picture is the mountain we were faced with, and it was still coming. We’re not the only ones. Hundreds (thousands?) of volunteers all across our state are doing the same exact thing. Why? Because your hearts are in theright place.That’s why.

I want to make that abundantly clear. It is beautifully apparent that you are thinking about us and that you want to help us figure this thing out. You are doing anything you can, and that has brought such profound joy to our hearts. I personally…

View original post 1,093 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Wrong Donations – Some Tough Words on Disaster Relief

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Absolutely positively true, I’ve sorted before. Very well written and I hope donators will take it to heart. Thank you for sharing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so welcome. She beautifully, and with much respect, explained the overwhelming situation that exists with this event, and others that evoke such an out-pouring of love and concern.

  2. karenfae says:

    so true – I have been hearing of people starting quilt donations and pillow cases already and well that might be great for the people in a couple months or more – right now they need the cleaning supplies and toiletries & money to buy replacement clothing to wear right now in south summer temperatures. And bottled water! My son in law’s place of business has a branch office in Houston where some of the staff have lost their homes or well be temporarily displaced – the Wisconsin office started a go fund me page with the company matching money to a certain amount – this money will be divided up and given to those that needed it – right away – that just made so much more sense to me as a place to donate cash then guessing as to what was needed.
    And sending used stain underwear is just beyond words – I have no words I can type for that!

  3. kathyreeves says:

    Well said, now if someone could truck the cold weather gear to Montana….

  4. Jeanne says:

    So very true in all times of crisis. I’m so glad she wrote this and that you shared it. Thanks.

  5. It was beautifully written — and by someone under a lot of stress and strain! So diplomatic.
    I agree with it and I am glad you posted it. My husband and I were very lucky not to have anyone we know personally affected, and we are thinking of ourselves as a second wave of help. When the people from out of state have to get back home, we will be on hand to pick up the crowbar and trash bag! 🙂

  6. Thanks for sharing this. I’d been thinking about all the donating and wondering if it was piling up somewhere, goods as well as money. There is a reason why cities and states have emergency plans and crews to organize and get the right things to the right people at the right time. Keeping Texas in my mind and prayers this week…

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your sweet comment is “spot on”. People always want to reach out and help but do so with very limited idea (many times) of the magnitude/scope of the event and what is most desperately needed at any given time.

  7. Thank you for posting the link to this story. It’s packed with important info shared in a most loving and kind way.

Leave a Reply

