Little Sweetie is home……

 

Today was a drizzly day outside but DH and I were on a mission. The goal was to bring my new HQ Sweet Sixteen to its new cozy ridge home. The direction was East, the road was I90, the exit was Sparta, WI, the destination – The Quilt Corner quilt shop in downtown Sparta. The town’s mainstreet is quite charming and the shop is located in what was a private home at one time (my guess!). Crystal greeted me at the door and explained that Lisa (regional HQ rep) was on her way to help with a bit of the set-up. The reason for this meet-up is that this retail outlet has just recently become a HQ dealer and they were still in a bit of “set-up mode”. No problem for me!!! The location is super…..just 50 miles (approx.) from home and a very easy drive to an inspiring, creative quilty spot!!! The back room  was humming with gals working on various projects. Seems this is a regular occurrence on Thursday afternoons.  Join me in a quick little room by room tour, taking time to appreciate all that this well stocked treasure has to offer…………………                                           And while all this wandering about was going on, my “Sweetie” was quietly and patiently waiting in the work room. I had added an open toe hopping foot to the order, as I have found the needed visibility cannot be achieved with the standard closed quilting foot. The “change-out” task was the one thing that was needed before taking her home….turned out not to be a major deal but one that is best performed by someone (Lisa) who had already done it a time or two………that day is coming for you, also, Crystal!!!!

Crystal and Lisa

A quick “run through” of  helpful “do’s & don’t’s” and we were ready to re-box her for the ride home. The boxes, containing the table, table extensions, bobbin winder, & machine definitely filled the second seat area of the pickup cab! Whew!!! Such a great experience! The gals were knowledgeable and so helpful answering all my questions and assuring me that any future answers I may need are only a phone call away! Will be back for future visits–especially since I needed to order more bobbins and spool adapter. Crystal so generously offered to mail out the items but I quickly assured her that it is no problem picking them up and bringing some friends to make sure all went ok!! The next destination was a wonderful little lunch spot (a block away) called Ginny’s Cupboard. Homemade bread, soups, desserts…….unbeatable combo by most standards!!  And, of course, I really couldn’t end this post without a quick peak at “Sweetie’s” new home.

Sweetie at home.

Tomorrow will be spent settling her in and making sure everything is ‘just right’ (at least until I start quilting and discover that I really must reposition everything!!!). Til next time…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Little Sweetie is home……

  1. Rhonda says:

    You’ve got her in a perfect spot! Having her backed up to the wall and to the window means that large quilts won’t drop off to the left, and thus create drag (yes, even with all that space, the really big quilts can still fall off the side of the table/wings and drag if you’re not careful — but not so with your setup).

    Happy quilting!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Will be posting photos of the QOV just completed (sans binding as of this moment!). Learned that walls are a sewer’s friend when I had my business (making/designing bridal gowns/formal wear). Those gowns, with all those crinolines!!!, can “eat you alive” if not subdued with those limitations. Sometimes I think that quilts aren’t near the problem those dresses were! The really nice thing is I can have the Juki and Bernina set up all the time and, if I need the serger, there’s a spot for a small table to place that on, too! It finally feels like a usable space!!!! Note: the quilts still manage to slide off the table to the right…..go figure!!!! LOL!

  2. ruthiequilts says:

    Yay!!! I’m so glad she’s home for you now!!! I can’t wait to see all the fun things you quilt on her…

    • treadlemusic says:

      She’s still adjusting…..actually it’s just the table! Needed to be raised a few inches…hehe! Much on our agenda for the weekend, so quality bonding time will have to wait ’til next week;-}

  3. ivoryspring says:

    Wowwie – congrats, Doreen! I think I need to move in with you. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Let’s see, now, the phrase is “there’s always room for one more”……but there’s more than that!!!!! Thanks for the most dear comment!!! I do feel truly blest and give thanks each day for these “gifts”….may they be used for His glory!!!!

  4. candy says:

    Can you see my face? It’s green with envy! 🙂 You’re one lucky girl!

    I don’t know if I could have stopped for lunch. (And I looooove to eat!) I think I would have had to rush home and set her up! When I got my first embroidery machine, I brought it home and didn’t even have time to take it out of the box. It was two days before Icould play. someof the longest hours in mylife!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Setting the machine up was no problem. The table with the extensions was a bit more involved but DH did it quickly. Since the dealer is a totally new HQ dealer, she hadn’t even been to the home office to get the training so my shop “run through” was extremely minimal. Today, however, we will see what I can figure out. Truly it is a very simple machine and the support videos on the HQ site are wonderful! Will report back in the days ahead!!!!

  5. witchylin says:

    So the little one is home. 😉 I am sure you will both be sewing happily together. The shop is truly an Aladdin’s cave of quilting goodies. Your Sweetie will be perfect for you and I am sure happy and well used in your home. Congratulations on the ‘adoption’ of such a cutie. The lovely flower quilt is very different. Simple but very striking. Not so simple to make though I am sure. Enjoy your quilting life with Sweetie and I look forward to seeing lots of projects she helps you make.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think the “Flower Quilt” idea would be a great way to use up some background-type fabrics from my stash and the flowers just raw-edge appliqued on top. I figure it doesn’t have to look exactly like the shop sample but such a great idea!!! Am looking forward to sitting down at the new addition later today! Blessings….D

  6. Jeanne says:

    What a fun day! I haven’t been to the Quilt Corner for a few years – it is time to go back! So glad Sweetie is home! Enjoy! ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      Let me know when/if you can revisit the shop and I/we could meet up!?! Was my first visit and my focus was definitely elsewhere—fabric took 2nd place (that’s not happened before! Hehe!)! Hugs, D

  7. trish says:

    Oh what a fun place.
    You must be so happy to have your sweetie home.
    Have a great weekend. :0)

  8. Karen says:

    Yippee! You go girl – sew much fun!

    Keep us posted on the beautiful quilting that you do !

    I agree with Karen — the 2nd quilt is darling! Should be on my “to-do” list.

    Take good care.
    Karen on Keuka ; )

    • treadlemusic says:

      That 2nd quilt was in the stairwell to the second floor and I was kinda hangin’ off the top step to get the pic. The hall was quite dark, also. I thought a photo would help me remember it for future reference and it turned out so well I thought I would put it in the post!!! So great you stopped by……D

  9. You know I’m not a quilter, but I love fabric having grown up sewing all my clothes as a teen and dresses for my grandma. Somewhere in the years (while raising three children) I got away from sewing. You are making me miss it. The fabrics now days are incredible and perhaps I could get back into sewing. Probably not quilting, though. Too much math involved.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I challenge you to do a bit of investigating into the “quilting thing”…..the math is not a paramount ingredient as much as an accurate 1/4” seam taken after doing some accurate cutting….but that is not a hurdle that is insurmountable for you, I am sure!!! Such projects as table toppers/runners are a great way to start…..very non-threatening, low investment and all levels of expertise!!! Winter is the perfect season to explore this art!!!!!-D

  10. Karen says:

    And that looks like a very nice shop – I might have to meet you there next time I am in Wisconsin 🙂 LOL

  11. Karen says:

    that looks like a nice machine – it does have rollers though – just the table? For some reason I was thinking long arm with the 3 rollers – so to use this one you still need to baste and roll the quilt and push and shove by hand? It looks interesting – let us know how you like it.
    I have the quilt pattern for the second photo that you show – why haven’t I made it? I don’t know – now seeing it makes me want to whip it up 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      “Whip” away!!!!! Yes, this is a “sit-down” machine that is just a mid/long arm version. It could be converted to a frame set-up (if I had the space!). Because the machine is situated the way it is and the harp is very tall and 16″ wide, the quilting process is so much less of a chore. I so enjoy manipulating the fabric/quilt and have no interest in “driving” a longarm machine. Micro-stippling (which I so love) is definitely difficult if not impossible to achieve on a long arm……for me anyhow! Thanks for stopping by this evening!

  12. Marsha says:

    You are going to be having a LOT of fun, Doreen. Congratulations! Enjoy.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much….I’m looking forward to getting acquainted with her. After this weekend I will have more time (large bon-fire/end of season gathering at out place this Saturday eve…..a few prep tasks ahead!).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.